July 19, 2006 at 10:09 pm (Uncategorized)

My buddy, Dick Small, has been whining like mad for me to start a blog so he can post creative and funny comments. Yes, I do have a dark side and this is partly for him.

The title of the blog is Family Tree Junkie and describes me to a tee. I’ve been researching my family tree for the past 8 years on both my maternal and paternal sides.

My father’s side is straight from Ireland way back in the early 1830’s. It’s interesting that throughout the generations they’ve pretty much married other folks from Ireland. So there’s alot of Irish in the blood.

My mother’s lines are more complicated. We believe her father’s line was from Austria but we haven’t been able to prove it yet. Her mother’s line, we believe, were from England and my great-grandmother’s line, we believe were probably from Sweden but again, we can’t prove it yet and are still researching these lines.

Researching my family trees helps me to understand and embrace where I come from on a deeper level.

6 Comments

  1. Renee said,

    Hi Teri,

    Thanks so much for visiting my site. I always assume the people reading are the ones that comment, and that there are no others, so it’s great to meet you! I’ll be back to read more about what you uncover re: your family tree!

    Renee

  2. Dick Small said,

    Damn, I wanted to be the first! I’ve always had bad timing, I’m afraid. By the way, I hope Renee knows what kind of place this will probably end up being (if my intuition serves me right).

  3. Mainline Mom said,

    Um, yes your friend Dick Small does have an odd sense of humor. Nice pic of boathouse row!!

  4. Dick Small said,

    Why THANK you, mainline mom! How GOOD of you to say so! While it’s TRUE that my sense of humor CAN best be described as ODD, you apparantly haven’t visited Mr. Gravely yet! He just loves new visitors! Although do be careful visiting his blog, some have been known NOT to return! HIS sense of humor is downright scary. And my, what LOVELY eyes you DO have! Once again it’s a PLEASURE to make your acquaintance, and DO have a good day, and take care, please!

  5. Mister Gravely said,

    Yes, I’m lookin’ forward to yer visit, ma’am. And please don’t be too concerned ’bout this here pitchfork, I only use it when I’m “provoked”.

  6. Mr. Fabulous said,

    I don’t know anything about my family, and I don’t want to know.

    It’s better than way.

Leave a Reply

