July 21, 2006 at 10:22 pm (Uncategorized)


This is my grandfather, my mother’s father. He was born in 1901 and died in 1970 about a month before my sister was born. My grandfather had a “shady” past. Back in his 20s he did some jail time for attempted murder. Yes, I said attempted murder. And not to be left out, one of his older brothers actually murdered someone and went to jail for a LONG time where he eventually was killed in jail. How ironic. The family isn’t sure what happened or why he did this but we knew he had been in jail and he had tried to murder someone.

Supposedly, back in the day, you didn’t ask your father “why did you try to kill someone” OR “what were you in jail for”. My mother and her family were extremely quiet people and did not ask questions of their parents. Luckily, my grandfather did this deed before he married my grandmother. She was 9 years younger than him and they didn’t marry until she was 25 and he was 35, therefore no wife and kids were involved in this exploit. He also did not get in trouble again. Sometimes I wonder if it was just a bar fight gone bad?

I often chuckle at this whole story as I can find it funny. My mother and her siblings don’t find it as funny as I, which I can understand.

I do wish that he and my grandmother were still alive, I miss them.

One question I always ask myself is “how did my great grandparents feel about having two jailbirds for sons”?

10 Comments

  1. Dick Small said,

    I would like to ask my parents the same question, unfortunately I don’t want to know the answer… damn.

  2. Teri said,

    I’m sure they would give you an easy answer and one that you’ve heard from all of us, because you’re a politician…..now that wasn’t hard, was it?

  3. Rapunzel said,

    I’d contribute to this discussion, but unfortunately the aqua net has made me a little light-headed. After I rest, I’ll be back.

  4. Teri said,

    SB, you might want to get help for this addiction. See ya after the rest.

  5. Mainline Mom said,

    Whoa a shady past. Cool. I’d be DYING of curiousity. I’m nosy that way. I should have been a PI, I’m pretty good and internet stalking people…namely guys I have crushes on.

  6. Teri said,

    Mainline mom, the internet makes things a whole lot easier too and no one has to know what you’re doing……I’m just sayin!

  7. Mister Gravely said,

    If you’re going to stalk someone, you need to be prepared if there ends up being a “confrontation”. Sorry, can’t get in to detail…

  8. Mr. Fabulous said,

    I suppose it’s only a matter of time before YOU try to whack someone.

    I have a list, if you want to help.

  9. Mainline Mom said,

    My big mouth is the problem with the stalking…no one would know if I didn’t tell them, but I have trouble keeping my secrets to myself.

  10. Teri said,

    me too Mainline Mom, me too.

Leave a Reply

