July 26, 2006 at 8:25 pm (Uncategorized)

Did you ever wonder where you would be if your parents made different choices? My mother got married in 1964, she was 21. My father was 13 years older than her and had been married once before. He also had five children from his first marriage. I came along in January of 1966 and about two years later my mother left my father. Basically, from the story I got from my mom, she was a babysitter for me and my 5 siblings. My father was in the Army and somewhere else, that wasn’t Nebraska. Did I mention I was born in Nebraska, the Corn Husker state? My mother promptly moved back to Oklahoma and back into her parents home while me and my siblings did time in the foster care system. My mother had to find a job before she could get me back and the State did not want to hear any stories otherwise. After my mom retrieved me, my siblings remained in the system until my father came back, which I believe was sooner rather than later.

After a brief stay in Oklahoma, my mom’s two brothers phoned her and told her to get her butt to New Jersey where it was a far better place. My aunt decided to join my mother and away they went. I think the grandparents followed suit not long after. When I was almost 5 years old, my mother had my sister, an “oops” baby as I like to call her and we’ve been a great little family ever since.

When I was about 30 I met my father via letter, thanks to my one sister, his daughter who tracked me down. When I was 38, I met him physically. I had no bad feelings towards my father, my mother never said anything bad about him to me. Whenever I asked her questions, she always answered them truthfully.

The moral of the story is, if I would have stayed in the Corn Husker state would the following have happened:

1. working at Dairy Queen

2. bare foot and pregnant continuously

3. with about 10 kids

4. living in a trailer park

No offense to anyone, but I thank the Good Lord often for my mother’s decision and I often tell her that. I would definitely not have the sister that I grew up with and definitely not have the friends that I have. Do you often wonder where you would be if your parent’s made different decisions in life?

Leave a Reply

