July 31, 2006 at 11:29 pm (Uncategorized)

Meet my paternal ggg grandparents, John and Maryanne. John was born in County Sligo, Ireland in 1809 and Maryanne was born in Dublin in 1817. Don’t they look like a happy couple? I would be too if I had eleven children and did hard labor all day working on the farm.

They emmigrated from Ireland together, along with their respective families, to the Ontario, Canada area. John, Maryanne and their children then moved to Nebraska by 1880. Census images are available online and makes tracking your relatives easy (1790-1930). They both died before 1900 and most of the family still lives in Nebraska.

13 Comments

  1. Lori said,

    Wow! That is so awesome that you have those photographs! I’ve always wondered why people back then look so miserable in pictures. That was until my dad told me that it sometimes took fifteen minutes to take a single, complete photograph. If I had to pose, completely still, with a smile on my face for that long, I’d probably be pissed too.

    However, with those expressions, I can’t imagine them making babies…especially not 11 babies! Sheesh.

  2. Teri said,

    i think they were actually not suppose to smile for any pictures back then, this is what I heard. other old pictures that I’ve seen there is never anyone smiling either.

  3. Alcuin Bramerton said,

    Those two estimable persons might be shocked to realise that they have spawned a dynasty, the apogee of which is an individual who wets her knickers over Orlando Bloom.

  4. Teri said,

    I wonder if they would be appalled alcuin?

  5. Dick Small said,

    I’m appalled. Does that count??

  6. Teri said,

    absolutely DS.

    you like your new nickname? I think I’m using this from now on.

  7. Dick Small said,

    Great!

  8. kattbanjo said,

    me likey

  9. Teri said,

    Katt: what do you like my ancestors or dick’s new nickname?

  10. anne altman said,

    cool! nice work! my gram had ten. that’s a lot of shitty diapers. and a lot of shouting “get off me” at your husband.

  11. kattbanjo said,

    me likey

  12. Teri said,

    amen to that Anne. now I know why they adopted twin beds.

  13. "that girl" said,

    uuummmm….maybe it’s just me, but does she have a beard? oh, that’s the other thing that they didn’t believe in back then…grooming!!

Leave a Reply

