August 7, 2006 at 8:05 pm (Uncategorized)

Would any of you consider doing high school over again? Do you have any regrets about high school. If you could take the knowledge that you have today back in time, would you? I would.

Back in the summer of 1982, my mother thought it would be funny to move us to Pennsylvania. To a suburb of Philly, about 30 miles away from where I lived at the time and where I live today. She decided to move us there before I was to enter my junior year in high school. I am an introvert and don’t handle meeting people well, especially if I have to approach the person. It ain’t gonna happen!! I was also pretty shy as a kid so these two combinations are deadly to a child going to a new school. Needless to say I was miserable and I had NO problem expressing this to my mother. She in turn told me to deal. Thanks Mom!

I finally wore her down and about six months later was allowed to come back to NJ and finish school. I stayed with my aunt and uncle for awhile and then with a friend or two. Even at my old school I was an introvert and shy but it was what I knew for so long. I grew up with most of the kids and I was familiar with the area.

If I could go back with the openness I have now as well as the knowledge, I would try so many different things that I hadn’t done before. Like be more sociable and join more clubs/sports.

I went back to live in PA in the summer of 1984 and eventually moved back to Jersey in December of 1988. I loved this town in PA after I moved back. I got a job at the local mall, made good friends (this is where I met my Florida friend) and had a blast overall. Unfortunately, every time I think of attending the local high school I almost break out with hives. It’s not the school, it’s my thought process while attending. Just bad memories that I WISH I could change.

10 Comments

  1. Zed said,

    The picture’s great, Teri!

    You couldn’t pay me enough money to go back to those years. They were wonderful–don’t get me wrong–but it was difficult trying to adjust to a developing body gone haywire, in trying to maintain some level of acceptance among my peers, and in achieving adequate grades to help carve out my future. It was a lot of pressure.

    The truth is, they were four short years in a life I’ve since been able to live in an interesting and full way. The years I’m in right now are just fine. I’ve grown into my skin and I like it here–and I don’t want to go back to the awkwardness of growing up.

  2. Lori said,

    Interesting question, Teri! High school was OK for me. I was well-liked and well-known, but not in the “popular” crowd. I was friendly with everyone. I had a lot of boyfriends and always had fun. School was definitely secondary to my social life back then.

    The only thing that ever really bothered me was I had a somewhat questionable reputation as a slut. I shouldn’t say it bothered me — I certainly didn’t lose any sleep over it — but it was strange, considering I was a serial dater. Oh well. I had more fun in my teen years than most people have in their entire lives!

    And I regret nothing.

  3. Teri said,

    thanks for the responses ladies.

    i just want to say again, that there would be no way in hell i would go back without the knowledge and great sense of humor that i have today. it was too painful the first time.

    Lori, i think everyone thinks “serial daters” are ho’s. looks are deceiving. maybe the boyfriends talked too much.

  4. kattbanjo said,

    HELL NO! I was in boarding school! There’s no way I would do it agiain. It was hell. i dont even go to the reunions

  5. Mainline Mom said,

    Yes great pic! I really loved high school, I think. It was a private K-12 school so I knew almost all the kids REALLY well and had great friends. The teachers were super nice. I was a good student. I wish I had more fashion sense and style. I wish I could go back with what I know about how to make my hair look good today. Also how to handle guys. I was a flirt, but if I did it again I would be so much more assertive. Even college…I have so much more self-confidence with men now than I did in college…WHY!!! since I’ve been married ever SINCE college?

  6. Lori said,

    Teri, I think you’re right. Just because I dated a lot of guys didn’t mean I slept with all of them!

    And even if I had, so what? My body, my business!

    Don’t get me started on this topic…I could go on and on…

    My point at that time was that I was young, I wanted to have fun and not be tied down to any one guy.

  7. Scarlet said,

    How stiff was that hair??

    Long live Super Duper Xtreme Hold spray.

    Seriously, cute.

  8. Teri said,

    thanks Scarlet.

    I’ve never been one to use alot of spray and I was definitely not one of the “big hair” girls.

  9. Dick Small said,

    Man, I hated the 80’s. And the 90’s. If I could have deleted 1980 – 1999, I would have. Damn…

  10. "that girl" said,

    HELLO MCFLY!!! did you not watch back to the future?!?! EVERYTHING would be different

    i think about it all the time. where would i be if i didn’t join the af? wouldn’t have met eric (still on the fence about that one). but i wouldn’t have the kids, hell just the experiance alone was great, yeah, i made some… questionable judgement calls, but other than that i wouldn’t change it…

    …can’t think about things in the past you would change, only how you can change to expand the future…

    just call me confusious (sp??)

Leave a Reply

