August 10, 2006 at 1:43 pm (Uncategorized)

I need a new memory!

Am I the only one with this issue? If I see someone from high school I can tell you who that person is without a problem. If I see someone that I worked with say five years ago, I can remember your face but hell if I can remember your name. Is it selective memory or do I have issue from high school that I need to resolve (see previous post)? I want to get to the bottom of this, it drives me crazy sometimes.

Thoughts? Anyone?

31 Comments

  1. Daddy D said,

    with age comes hardship of creating new memories or something…i find myself having similar problems.

    – Jon
    – Daddy Detective
    http://www.daddydetective.com

  2. Lori said,

    I have terrible short-term memory, too. To the point that if my boss tells me something today and then asks about it tomorrow or even next week, I stare at him blankly and go, “Uhhhhh…”

    Wish I had answers for you but I don’t. Let me know if you find something that helps you, cause I could sure use it too!!

  3. Teri said,

    the memory has gotten worse with age but unfortunately I can’t blame the age on this particular problem.

    I’m the same way at work.

    maybe ginkoba? that supposedly helps the memory.

    i also feel like my mind is like a hard drive and purges itself of stuff on its own, without my knowledge or consent. : )

  4. Dick Small said,

    My grandmother was like that, just before she was “committed”.

  5. Scarlet said,

    I have trouble remembering what I did last week! But I can also remember things such as what certain people wore, said and did over 2 years ago.
    Its not age or needing tablets, its the way we are.

    … now where did I leave my pants?? My god, the supermarket. BACK SOON!!!

  6. kattbanjo said,

    I don’t even remember what I wore todsy or what I had for breakfast….Im not a good person to ask

  7. Teri said,

    oh good, then I’m just like the rest of you fruit cakes. i don’t feel so alone anymore.

  8. Dick Small said,

    No, I think you are.

  9. Dick Small said,

    Hahaha!!

  10. Teri said,

    hehehehe, you’re a riot Mr. Small.

  11. Scarlet said,

    No, Dick’s right… your alone in that thought Teri.

    alone..alone…alone…

    Damn echo….echo..cho..oo

  12. Teri said,

    gee thanks Scarlet. just when you feel like you have support, the rug gets pulled out from under you.

    thanks again people.

  13. kattbanjo said,

    you’re not alone! you have me!! YAY!

  14. Teri said,

    thanks Katt, you’re my rock when everyone else want’s to put you under the rock and drown you with their unsupport. *sniff, sniff*

  15. kattbanjo said,

    I honestly couldn’t remember if I had commented and LOOK! I already did! LOL! I answered your question with that little brainstorm, huh?

  16. kattbanjo said,

    maybe someone should drown me…..

  17. kattbanjo said,

    UM…teri….you called me a fruitcake, didn’t you…I just realized what you meant.

  18. Teri said,

    a fruitcake is a good thing katt. it’s like a special club for special people.

  19. kattbanjo said,

    oh ok then, yay! I’m a fruitcake. fruitcakes in the kitchen, fruitcakes on the bus. There’s a little bit of fruitcake left in every one of us.

  20. Teri said,

    hey, that was a great rhyme.

  21. kattbanjo said,

    I stole it fron Jimmy Buffet. It’s not orginal….But I love that song!

  22. Scarlet said,

    But what a great circle of Fruitcakes we are!

  23. Teri said,

    you said it Scarlet, I’m always proud to be a fruitcake, it separates us from normal and boring people.

  24. Scarlet said,

    Gee Teri, I dont know what I really am. Your link lists appear to not have the Scarlet one…..(puts on sad face)

  25. Mainline Mom said,

    It IS age, but maybe not so much in the sense that our memory gets weaker with age, but in the sense that our brains are nearing capacity and shit gets pushed out to make room for other shit. That’s my theory anyway. I have a photographic memory…err…had I guess. It’s still not too bad.

  26. Teri said,

    Scarlet, I just put you on my sidebar tonight. Sorry, I’m lazy.

  27. Teri said,

    mainline mom, I agree with you. in fact whenever the “memory” comes up, especially with some of us older folks, I always refer to my brain as the “hard drive” and the fact that it purges crap that it doesn’t need anymore. that’s my definition of my ONCE fabulous memory, totally sucks now.

  28. Doctor Mom said,

    Teri–
    I think our “C” drives get a little full and we have to just put some things (that are less important) in our “cache” files which occassionally get deleted.

    Also– the other thing that happened to me… was with every pregnancy, as my uterus stretched, my brain shrank proportionately.

    The only problem is that the uterus is a muscle, so it snaps back, brain matter is spongy and cannot snap back.

    Moms lose their memory right along with their minds.

  29. Scarlet said,

    I just wish it wouldn’t automatically go into “Defrag” mode.

  30. Doctor Mom said,

    Scarlet-
    The automatic defrag comes into play when you don’t have your Spam Filter on!

  31. "that girl" said,

    what was the question??!! hehehe

    this would be the reason that now, as an adult, i have to have my bills scheduled on bill pay, but i can still remember every line to the breakfast club and sixteen candles….maybe it’s the ghosts left over from all those brain cells that we all killed!!

    who knows

Leave a Reply

