Mom – Part 2

September 1, 2006 at 12:26 am (Uncategorized)

Back in the late 80’s, my mother took a trip to Arizona with a friend of hers. In 1990, she told me she was moving there. She sold all her stuff (an apartment’s worth) and drove out to Arizona with my sister. They took in some detours along the way, like stopping in the town that my mother lived as a girl. The sidewalk was layed out, the stop light was working well and they enjoyed their two minutes of sightseeing that day.

They made it out to Arizona and settled in the Phoenix area. The next year my sister joined the Air Force and off to Texas for bootcamp she went. I try to make it out there at least once a year to visit. My sister has since moved back to the Phoenix area and my mom lives with her, my brother-in-law, niece and nephew.

I enjoy visiting AZ because there is great sightseeing to be had. If you drive North you get the Grand Canyon, Flagstaff and some good skiing (I don’t ski, so I’m guessing) and lots of Native American ruins, etc. Down south you get more Native American ruins (are you seeing a theme here regarding the Native’s?) and Tombstone, the town. It’s a beautiful state but pretty desolate in most areas. I would NOT want to be stranded out in the desert without AAA coming to rescue me.

My favorite town in AZ is Sedona. Simply breathtaking but becoming commercial like mad as I type this. Why can’t folks leave nature alone?

Here is a lovely photo of me, my sister and mother on Walnut Creek Canyon. This canyon is on the side of a mountain and has Native American ruins around the rim. You have to climb/descend millions of steps just to reach it. I was taking the photo and am CLINGING to the side of the mountain for dear life considering I don’t like heights or open spaces. It was frightening.

Here’s another picture, this one is of the Grand Canyon. If you haven’t seen this place yet, you must go. It is breathtaking! My sister kept trying to fling herself off the cliff and scare my mother and me to death.

1 Comment

  1. Mr. Fabulous said,

    Have you ever listened to the song by Jamie O’Neal? I thought there was no Arizona…

Leave a Reply

