Family Ties

September 10, 2006 at 1:51 am (Uncategorized)

Here is a lovely photo of my great grandmother, Bertha, and her family. She is standing to the right of her father, my great great grandfather, who was born in 1861. This is my mother’s grandmother and this particular family I believe my mother resembles. I believe the photo was taken somewhere around 1900. Bertha was born in 1891 and her sisters were born in 1893 and 1896, respectively. I don’t know why she’s blurry in this photo, I wonder if she moved as the picture was being taken? My great great grandfather’s family lived in the Delaware/New Jersey area between 1774 and 1820. There was a huge boom of Swedish settlers to the area and I believe that his family was included in this population. We are still researching this family because we can’t seem to locate a connection to the other similar surnames from this area and have no idea who they are related to.

Here is another photo of my gg grandfather’s brothers who were born in 1849 and 1855, respectively.

4 Comments

  1. Zed said,

    Great photos, Teri! I love how old-time photo studios used to supply “interesting” backgrounds for their photos–like those behind your family.

    I hope you have captured these old family photos on a digital medium. My mother lost all of our old family photos last year when Hurricane Wilma blew through Florida and destroyed her home and all of her possessions. What a loss!

  2. Teri said,

    Thanks Zed.

    I have hard copies of these as well as electronic copies on my computer.

    It would kill me if all this stuff was lost. I even have anxiety attacks about my hard drives going down and losing everything.

  3. Grant Miller said,

    I like the staches.

  4. Janet said,

    I always think it’s so cool when current day bloggers scan old time photos in. It’s like the merging of two worlds.:)

Leave a Reply

