LiveAid

September 16, 2006 at 3:44 pm (Uncategorized)

My cyber sister, Zed, reminded me the other day of LiveAid. Does anyone remember this?

Anyone?

I was actually going to do a post about this before Zed mentioned it. It was an historical event, one of many come to think of it. Here is a list of my people that went and where we were sitting:

my friend G – across the stadium from me
his sister – across the stadium from me
my friend Cheri – across the stadium from me
my sister – with me
me – with my sister

It was held in July of 1985 so I was 19 years old and my sister was 15. Here is a list of items that two stupid teenagers should bring with them during a hot, sunny, humid day with 1 million other people, jammed into JFK Stadium in Philly for a DAY LONG concert:

1. sunblock
2. money
3. sunglasses
4. meeting point for other friends

I found out years later that my best friend C was also there. But who wasn’t at this concert? I think everyone was at this concert. Weren’t they?

13 Comments

  1. Mr. Fabulous said,

    That is so cool that you were at Live Aid!

  2. Zed said,

    Hey Teri, if that’s a picture YOU took, and you were sitting on the right side of the stage while facing the state–well, so was I!

    I was with my ex- (Mr. Yuck), and we were sitting very close to the stage and about 10 rows down from where you were. I remember everyone was doing “the wave” all afternoon on our side, and we started up several of them. How cool is that?? SAME SIDE SIS!

  3. Zed said,

    Mr. Yuck and I were not yet a couple–we were young and just friends who went to LiveAid together with a few other friends.

    I wish I had figured out what a jerk he’d turn out to be. I could have avoided all that angst later on. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Teri said,

    That is too cool sis.

    I, unfortunately, do not remember much of the day. I think it was heat stroke………

    Yea, we usually don’t realize men are like Mr. Yuck until it’s too late.

  5. Zed said,

    You remember the firemen watering down the crowd because of the heat? Even that wasn’t much of a relief. It was dreadfully hot that day–and I came home totally roasted to a crisp after sitting in the sun for about 6 hours or more… It was STILL worth it though, severe burns and all. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Doctor Mom said,

    I see you!! I don’t recognize your friends though, sorry.

  7. Teri said,

    yea, I remember them hosing down the crowd. Please. it was like flicking water from your fingers onto the people. USELESS.

  8. scarlet said,

    wow… i remember that Down Under they televised the Australian concert then the US and UK concerts. I stayed at a friends and we watched and taped it. It went for like 2 days!!

  9. Lori said,

    I wasn’t at Live Aid, but watched it on TV at my cousin’s house in Ridley Park.

    I was eight years old, by the way.

  10. Jen said,

    I remember that!

    I was 12

  11. Mainline Mom said,

    I remember it VERY well, living in Philly and being a huge fan of most of the musicians. I was 10. I cried when they tore down JFK.

  12. "that girl" said,

    i have never really been a concert person and lately i think i attribute it to being at this concert. i mean, what concert can you go to that tops this, and as like maybe the 1st or 2nd concert that you have ever gone to in your life.

    looking back, yeah, stupid, stupid, stupid. especially considering where i live now and what i know about being drunk and dehydrated!!

    oh, t was there too wasn’t he??

  13. Teri said,

    t, I don’t think Tom was there, was he??? unless he was sitting somewhere else. I just remember G and his crew sitting across the masses on the other side of the stadium.

Leave a Reply

