What a Blast!

September 21, 2006 at 7:27 pm (Uncategorized)

Well, it was a blast being at work today, literally. The building shook, the fire department told us to leave the building and head across the street to City Hall and away we went. It seems that they evacuated all the buildings surrounding this blast so there were tons of people on the street and they blocked off major streets for this crisis. That was at about 1:15 p.m.

I’m home now and it’s 3:22 p.m. Woo Hoo, early leave taking day. I guess I have to go back tomorrow, huh?

UPDATE: Here’s a good video that Channel 6 (ABC) took. I’m in the Centre Square/Clothespin building. We hadn’t lost any power but according to Sans I can stay home tomorrow. Thanks!

Update #2: Well, *heavy sigh*, when I awoke this morning and checked my voicemail our company message was “the building and parking garage are open and functional”. Damn them to hell, I was expecting a three day weekend. Well at least Sans’ prediction didn’t come true. He was a wealth of support and information, thanks Mr. Pantaloons.

11 Comments

  1. Sans Pantaloons said,

    Hi Teri!,
    The video is certainly exciting, those flames leaping out the manhole were very angry.
    You must have been a little shaken yourself. As for work tomorrow, who knows if the building foundations suffered damage? If the building power was killed suddenly, a lot of equipment might not recover.

  2. Teri said,

    Oh thanks Sans, you made my afternoon. I’ll check voicemail tomorrow morning and hope to hear:

    “you do not have to come to work today people. stay home and sleep in.”

  3. Teri said,

    did I forget to mention that Ranstead Street, where the manholes were exploding, is the alley directly behind my building. This is where all the deliveries are made into the building.

    Makes me feel all warm and fuzzy..

  4. Sans Pantaloons said,

    Unfortunately the voicemail from heaven rarely happens. What is more likely you will get zero information, have to go in, be unable to log in or use the phones, stand around while the management have crisis meetings in the war room, and then 10 minutes before you are due to finish anyway, told to go home.
    Never fails.
    But we can hope, there is always hope.

  5. Sans Pantaloons said,

    On the other hand, City Ordnance might just close the building until safety inspections have been carried out.
    That’s a 100 to 1 chance.
    Do you feel lucky?

  6. Mainline Mom said,

    Whoa you work downtown?! That’s so cool. I heard about this on the news!

  7. Mainline Mom said,

    Oh teri, I just watched the news and that plus your comment on my blog about digital cable and I think I know who you work for. Please tell me it isn’t true…I hate that company.

  8. Sans Pantaloons said,

    Channel 6 report good stuff. Looks like a number of oil filled high voltage cables went up.
    This happened in Auckland NZ a few years back. All the supplies are cross connected so when one fails, another immediately attempts to carry the load, but in this case they all failed in sequence like dominos falling. This could be a big problem. These cables are not easy to replace, you can’t get them from home depot. If they ran in common cable ducts, the fire may have destroyed telco cabling too.
    I’ll fone Steve Martin to see if he’ll send his Lear Jet over for me, and I’ll be right there to make sure you get the next 3 weeks off on full pay.
    How does that sound?

  9. Teri said,

    I just checked my voicemail and they said to stay away from the building and underground parking until further notice.

    Three day weekend, maybe???

  10. Anonymous said,

    I saw this on TV but had no idea you were near it. Wow, that had to be scarey, sis. So much smoke!

    They really COULD have given you off today for a 3-day weekend. Creeps.

  11. Kara said,

    Damn, girl!! Never a dull moment, I guess!

    Glad you are safe and all is well… except the having to work part 😉

Leave a Reply

