To Bid Or Not To Bid – *UPDATE*

October 18, 2006 at 4:00 pm (Uncategorized)

Update – Well, they went with the investor who has cash handy and can close by the end of the month. DAMN them to Hell! Okay, I’m done that rant. It’s doesn’t happen very often that a house “speaks” to me so I was really wanting this house. But I know the one for me is around the corner somewhere. My house is officially in the MLS system and I’m having an open house on the 28th so I’m not looking at any other houses until after the open house happens. Thanks for all your well wishes and offers of housing. I will keep you posted.


Wish me luck people, I put a bid on a house today. There were seven other people bidding on this house and the last bid was from an investor who wants to redo the whole house and sell it for an obscene amount of money. Over my dead body!

The house was built in 1917 and has charm and character. The original hard wood floors are pretty good throughout the whole house and some of the floors were covered by linoleum and can be taken up. There is tons of cosmetic work that the house needs but I think I’m up for the challenge. The foundation seems sound, it’s got a two car garage and sits on a “V” shaped lot. One side of the street is relatively busy but the other street is a one way street and is quiet.

Now I have to pull the rug out from the bozo bidding on it and sell my own house. I’m excited, hopefully it happens.

Wish me luck!

29 Comments

  1. Mr. Fabulous said,

    Very cool! Good luck. How exciting!

  2. Anonymous said,

    Good luck. Fingers are crossed.

  3. Renee said,

    Good luck! It sounds like a great house.

  4. Sans Pantaloons said,

    Wishing you good luck Teri, 1917 was a very good year!

  5. Anonymous said,

    Hey Teri! Well, I could go the “safe”, “typical” route and just wish you luck (how cheap is that), OR if you’d like, I “know” some people from my Washington days who could just “eliminate the competition” and we can get you in that house. Let’s just say some people “owe” me….

  6. Anonymous said,

    …. especially Ted Kennedy and Trent Lott (I can’t go into details. I’m sure it’s killing you, the not knowing and all).

  7. Teri said,

    Dick – that would be great but then I would owe you a favor and that would be BAD!

    Nothing would surprise me as to what Ted and Trent have done. So there is no curiosity here, sorry to bust your bubble.

  8. Zed said,

    Good luck, sis! I’m feeling like you got it, and I’m hoping I’m right!

  9. Teri said,

    Thanks sis. I’m not worried but I did give them a contingency that I have to sell my house first. so they could go with the investor because he can buy it right away.

    I’m having good vibes but I know that there is that small chance that I could lose it.

  10. Amy said,

    Luck!! I can only imagine the stress involved in this.

    You’ll have to invite us all over when you get it. You know… if you want it trashed. Hee hee.

  11. Jen said,

    Good Luck!!!
    Good Luck!!!
    Good Luck!!!

    If it doesn;t work out
    I heard Dick Small
    is renting out his basement
    but let’s hope it doesn’t
    come to that

    😉

  12. "that girl" said,

    i’m saying good luck and crossing my fingers, i think … ??? … i just know that the housing market out here in the desert SUCKS!! big time!!! … 1917?? not sure if i’d want to deal with all that … kudos to you!!!

  13. Tricia said,

    Fingers, toes, and even my legs crossed hoping you get it! LOL Good luck. I’ve been in bidding wars and it ain’t pretty.

  14. Anonymous said,

    Sorry Jen, the “unit” has been rented. I can’t say to whom, though. Sorry. ..

  15. Anonymous said,

    … if I leaked it, it could get me killed, actually.

  16. Anonymous said,

    Then I’d have to go into hiding and change my identity. It would really complicate things, for sure.

  17. Teri said,

    so Dick, when do I move in?

  18. mixednut said,

    Ok. So the “unit” is rented.
    What about the room??

  19. Jen said,

    BWAhahahaha

  20. Zed said,

    Nothing yet?

  21. Teri said,

    not a word, sis. there has been some drama over here in South Jersey and my buyer’s agent was MIA today and all the offers were presented to the seller last night.

    What’s going on Ms. Buyer’s Agent? Where are you today?

    My main issue: my house is not sold yet and the seller is having issues, I’m assuming, with this contingency clause…….will keep you posted if I don’t end up in the looney bin first..

    I also found out that Foxtons keeps your listing “in-house” for 30 days before putting it into the MLS system….Oh, I was having NONE of that and they put my listing into the system today. how do they expect for your house to sell if it stays in the family????? And not in the general public?????

    Needless to say, there has been some knashing of teeth, pulling of hair and some crying……

  22. Zed said,

    The waiting is a killer. Maybe you’ll hear by Wednesday.

    It must be a great place to have 6 other bidders. I really hope you can get it!

  23. Anonymous said,

    Mixed Nut, I’m not QUITE sure what you meant by that, but if it made Jen laugh then I’m sure it was totally crude….

  24. Grant Miller said,

    I wish you luck.

  25. Mr. Fabulous said,

    That sucks, I’m sorry. But I am sure that other houses will speak to you…

  26. Anonymous said,

    Are you going to take your house off the market until you have something firmer? Or keep it on? Relatives sold their house planning on the “if-come”, and now no house, no money. You should seriously consider..

  27. Teri said,

    nope, won’t take it off the market. have been seeing more houses in my price range lately in the area that I would like to live, so now it’s just about selling.

    This is my first time selling and buying at the same time so it’s been a bit crazy.

  28. Anonymous said,

    Realtors are worse than used car salesman. What was the point of them not wanting on the MLS? I guess they don’t want to split the commission.

    Good luck with the buying/selling. I lucked out when I found my house, I had a contingency that I had to sell my house and the sellers didn’t like it, but had gotten no other offers. Turned out I sold my house within hours of listing it so it worked out fine.

  29. kattbanjo said,

    good luck! sounds fab

Leave a Reply

