Would you like to go on a date?

November 14, 2006 at 11:30 pm (Uncategorized)

Chris and Freak Magnet are trying out the online dating. They’re feeling a little discouraged. Between the bad photos, the idiot descriptions and the game playing, what’s a boy/girl to do? My question to you is, what is a deal breaker for dating someone? These are mine:

Minus’
1. smoker (now if he’s open to quitting, I’ll give him a chance)
2. verbally negative or abusive
3. what he describes himself as, or gives a picture of, is SO totally not him that it’s frightening
4. is negative and verbally abusive to others
5. is so into sports that you DON’T exist. FOR ANY REASON
6. he can’t find the time for you. even though he is on an online dating service. HE HAS NO TIME!

Plus’
1. Supportive of me
2. Fairly positive attitude
3. Non-smoker
4. Sensitive (you know the type, a little more in tune to their feminine side but not TOO much)
5. Good morals
6. Good values
7. Good manners
8. Good to others
9. Good to their parents, siblings, etc.
10. Not too cheap
11. Great sense of humor
12. Good conversationalist

One of the comments that someone posted on another blog mentioned that a few of the men said that they don’t read books. I have issues with this because I don’t think this is a big deal. Most men don’t read books. That’s not a big deal and will not make the world come to an end.

What are your plus and minus’ for dating? Share in the comment section.

41 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    Damn. I know what I’m thankful for this year… NOT being in the dating scene.

  2. Dating-Guru said,

    Hello,

    I recently published an article on the complexities of dating in general and blind dating and online dating in particular – here is a quote from it, in case you are interested:

    How to create your profile?
    1. Make a realistic profile. Try to show your best qualities without lying about something you are not. Try to find out what exactly appreciate the other at you;
    2. List the most important features you expect your partner to have, but don’t exaggerate, just stick to the real life;
    3. Learn to recognize a cheater from a sincere person by reading that person’s profile or by asking a set of questions that would reveal that person’s ego;
    4. Start by chatting with more than one person;
    5. Try to communicate with that person in an open manner;
    6. Study the other’s profiles to help your create a more attractive profile for yourself;
    7. Save yourself if necessary and don’t let these kind of virtual reality seize you completely. Give yourself more options in your life and consider virtual reality as one of the many, and not the only way.

    If you feel this helps, please drop by my website for additional dating tips and resources such as body language tips or additional resources on dating mistakes .

    Regards,

    Michael

  3. Anonymous said,

    Well with THAT sort of criteria, those girls are never gonna find a guy. There is NO perfect guy (I mean, we’re all pretty much pigs, you know). Apparantly Michael the dating guru is an exception. Maybe even the kind of boyfriend that can chat easily with your mother (if you “catch my drift”).

  4. Chef Boyz-R-Neat said,

    Yoo Hoo!! Hi Michael!!!

  5. Sunshine said,

    I’ve been married 13 years so my dating requirements would take some serious thought.
    But, I told my hubby when we met I didn’t want to be married to a smoker, period. It took a long time and he fell off the wagon a lot but he’s quit now for a while.
    So, that would be, if I was dating again, one of my big requests also.

  6. mixednut said,

    Plus’
    Obedient
    Quiet
    Slutty
    Supportive of ME
    Brings me beer w/o having to be told.

    Minus’
    Bitchy
    Won’t cook/clean
    Nags me about my sports!

    😉

  7. Anonymous said,

    Haahaa!! Take that, “ladies”!!

  8. Mainline Mom said,

    My husband doesn’t read many books, but he reads LOTS of news. Once in awhile he’ll read a book. Never one that I suggest.

    I think healthy/fitness conscious would be a big one for me now.

  9. Anonymous said,

    Well you’re in luck, M.N., because from that description Teri just might be the perfect match for you. You really nailed her. Think about it..

  10. Anonymous said,

    … well from what I’ve “heard” anyway..

  11. mixednut said,

    What time do you want me to pick you up Teri?
    7:30 ok?

  12. Teri said,

    that time’s great, mixednut!

    where are you taking me?

  13. mixednut said,

    The Nets/Bucs game at the Continental Arena.

  14. Anonymous said,

    There’s just SO much love in this place..

  15. Chris said,

    The most important things, assuming the initial physical attraction is there, is that she:
    1. Is kind.
    2. Has a sense of humor.
    3. Has deep thoughts.
    4. Isn’t easily offended or grossed out.
    5. Is compatable politically and spiritually
    6. Has a sense of adventure.
    7. Wants to have a shitload of sex.

  16. mixednut said,

    Hey Chris, do you like sports??

  17. Teri said,

    mixednut, me and my jersey will be ready to go. can we eat first or do I just get a hotdog at the stadium?

  18. Teri said,

    Chris – love the reference to the grossed out and sex part. at least you’re honest, right?

  19. Anonymous said,

    Unfortunately, when you’re a convicted felon, you pretty much have to take what you can get.

  20. Anonymous said,

    .. or at least that’s what some “friends” told me.

  21. mixednut said,

    Make that 6:00 Teri.
    I’m taking you to Bareli’s for dinner. 😉

  22. Teri said,

    oh goody, a sit down dinner. ; )

  23. Teri said,

    Dick, I’m sure you got alot of “hot dogs” while in prison.

  24. Chris said,

    mixednut- Good point. Football Sunday (at least during the Bears game)is sacred and must be observed as such.

  25. Anonymous said,

    I like sports. And Teri that hot dog comment was crass even for “You”.

  26. Anonymous said,

    Not surprising at all, though, by the way.

  27. Anonymous said,

    I did the online dating/meeting thing. And I learnt several things.

    1. There are a lot of fruitcakes ou there. A LOT.
    2. It may work for some, but really, the success rate is really, really low.
    3. Re-read 1 & 2.

    Yes, there are couples that meet online and it works for them. But they are the 2% that do make it work.

    My biggest mistake IN MY LIFE was meeting and falling into the online dating world. 14 years of marriage then it failed, thats ok. But 1 year of online, and for that I APOLIGISED to my daughters. (and it still comes back to haunt every so often) Honestly tell them to go outside the house, OFF the computer to meet people for dating. REALLY BEG THEM!!!

  28. Anonymous said,

    That’s so sad!

  29. Teri said,

    Scarlet, I thought all the fruitcakes were here in the States. Had no idea that you Aussie’s had them too, huh!

    I’m sorry for all the traumatized experiences.

    I think getting out there and meeting people is the best way as well.

  30. Anonymous said,

    Hey, did you and mixednut enjoy dinner and basketball last night? Where’s Bareli’s BTW?

  31. Anonymous said,

    Are you talking about Bareli’s in SECAUCUS??

  32. Teri said,

    We had a fabulous time. MN’s quite the gentleman when he’s not throwing food at the players, that is. he’s very tempermental when his team’s not winning.

    Bareli’s was fabulous. Yep, the one in Secaucus.

  33. Anonymous said,

    Very cool!

  34. Anonymous said,

    Teri, I’d rather not have all of the intimate details of your “date” with MN plastered all over this comment page. Please.

  35. Teri said,

    you’re jealous, aren’t you, Dick?

  36. Drib said,

    Bonus? Protruding breasts 😉

    Hey, love your site.

  37. Freak Magnet said,

    I’ve gone on one date so far. His profile says he’s taller than average. He’s an inch or two shorter than me.

    I’m not busting on him for his height, but why lie about THAT. Like I’m not going to find out.

    Sheesh

  38. Freak Magnet said,

    Oh, as far as what I’m looking for, I’d settle for normal.

  39. Anonymous said,

    I’m available… oh that’s right, I’m not. I’m happily married to the man of my dreams. The NAKED man of my dreams..

  40. Anonymous said,

    Hey Drib, I don’t have protruding breasts, but Ted Kennedy does. He’s dying to meet you, you know. If you want I’ll give him your phone number (if he doesn’t spill whiskey all over it, that is).

  41. "that girl" said,

    as a recent member of the online dating club (zip it sis!) here are my thoughts

    ** exchange email, chat, talk on the phone, go on a date, meet them, you don’t like them …. NEXT!!!

    you only live once, don’t waste time on someone that doesn’t give you what you want and deserve … there’s too many fish in the sea and my little fins are going 800 miles an hour!!

Leave a Reply

