Smile for the camera

November 26, 2006 at 1:48 am (Uncategorized)

Since I subscribe to numerous genealogy mailing lists, everytime someone posts, I get an email. Every once in awhile the email is worthwhile and ends up that someone is researching someone in my family line or is providing some information that they found, etc.

A few months ago, someone posted that they found a picture, in a Missouri antique store. Now, it’s interesting that family pictures even make it to antique stores, or any other store for that matter. Since this list was surname specific to one of my lines I read the email. In this email, they mentioned this persons married names, as she was married more than once, and her original surname. I took a look through my family tree maker family file for this person and voila, I found out that this person was my great great grandfather’s sister. Her names were listed on the picture for future generations, I guess.

I emailed the lady who had come across this photo and offered to purchase it since it was in my direct family line. This situation really made me think about my next antiquing trip and to look out for old family photos, especially if their name is on the photo. I love when photos are returned to the rightful owners, the family!

3 Comments

  1. Caloden said,

    Who is this in your family? It’s wonderful that you are able to acquire this bit of family history.

  2. Anonymous said,

    Very very cool! I’m not in the loop for how much things like this would cost, but I think if it was me I would’ve just sent you the photo and not made you pay for it.

  3. Teri said,

    it was actually only a few bucks. what she paid at the antique store and what she paid in postage.

    there have been many times that people, including myself, don’t take money for stuff, especially if it’s under $10. Just knowing that you’re helping someone out with their family research is payment enough.

Leave a Reply

