More genealogy tips

December 4, 2006 at 1:30 am (Uncategorized)

The Mormons, believe it not, are some great people. They have been in charge of vast record gathering for a long time. The Latter Day Saints or the LDS, as everyone likes to call them have a great website where people contribute their family information. The LDS also gathers information from around the country through government agencies, like the County Clerks office, etc. and puts this information into their databases and microfilms alot of these records. They have Family Centers in almost every county of every State. These Family Centers are available to the public for searching records. Once you have found a record that you want to look at, you simply order the microfilm from the LDS in Salt Lake City. There is a fee of about $5 per microfilm you order. Once the microfilm comes in, you go back to the Family Center and read the microfilm. The only thing I don’t like about the records that they microfilm is that there is NO guarantee that the specific resource you are looking for was microfilmed. For example, I was looking for a particular record in a particular book. It seems that almost all of the books for those records were microfilmed except for the one that I wanted. Either those particular books no longer existed or the LDS just did not microfilm those books. Visit their site.

Another great site is Cyndi’s List. This is a hard site to describe. It’s all for genealogy research but there is so much information on the site, you really have to visit to get the full effect.

10 Comments

  1. CP said,

    I way too scared to look up my family tree. I get the nagging feeling there aren’t many branches and my tree grows straight up.

    CP.

  2. Teri said,

    CP, from your descriptions of your mother, I would have to agree with you.

  3. Anonymous said,

    I’m a Mormon. I was a beta tester for the Church’s new web based Family History tool. (and as a side note my uncle is one of the programmers working on it) The parts I used were very easy to use, and it was very powerful (all the information was free and quickly at my disposal). When it comes out I think you will like it Teri.

  4. Anonymous said,

    Looks like some of the tools I used are already up. Its been a year and a half or so since I have done anything with the program. 😛 been busy.

  5. Teri said,

    Sushiboy – I knew there was a reason I like you. : )

    I need to get back to working with this tool. I’ve been engrossed with Ancestry.com for so long I’ve neglected the others.

  6. Doctor Mom said,

    Hey Teri-
    Please swing through Cul-de-Sac this week– we are having a real-life Interview with a Vampire!

  7. Anonymous said,

    Sushiboy, you’re so smart! What a wonderful thing to be part of!

    Hi Teri! Just passing through… 🙂 One of these days I’d like to get back to compiling my family tree. I got as far back as the 1900 census (and found my mother’s side of the family), but stopped due to time constraints. Thanks for the info!

  8. Grant Miller said,

    You just wait until Coaster Punchman gets a hold of this post.

  9. Anonymous said,

    I would love to start researching mine, but I really have no idea where to start at all.

    I just think “I’d really like to do this”, and that’s as far as I get.

  10. Freak Magnet said,

    My grandmother keeps bugging me to join Daughters of the American Revolution. While I guess I’m proud of the fact we had some hot shot in the war as family, I don’t know if I can pledge allegiance to the confederate flag.

Leave a Reply

