Donny & Marie

December 16, 2006 at 1:26 am (Uncategorized)

There is some MAJOR nostalgia going on in the Teri household tonight. I thought Dick Small was the only one going back in time regarding his childhood. Well, I just went back about 30+ years. Do you remember these folks? I was a young kid but I had a huge crush on them as a singing duet and when their show aired. I loved Donny and thought he was the cutest boy, EVER. While downloading and singing some of their songs tonight I was amazed. My memory is not that great as I’m getting older but can I tell you I knew every word to each of these songs and sang them like they were just released to the public. Enjoy some nostalgia with me, please.

Some of their songs/videos:

1. Deep Purple
2. I’m Leaving It All Up To You
3. Morning Side of the Mountain (I absolutely LOVED this song)
4. The Twelfth of Never

10 Comments

  1. SushiBoy said,

    Heh. I was a little young for the Donny and Marie craze. But I do remember a sketch or two from their variety show

  2. Amy said,

    I remember the show. My friend had the Donny and Marie dolls. I wasn’t that into them (please don’t hate me…lol)

  3. Teri said,

    Sushiboy – I’m so sorry you missed out.

    Amy – no hate, we’re all into specific things and D&M doesn’t do it for everyone. I think I was just at that age. I think I was about 5 or 6 when they first started coming out and I was getting into music at that time.

  4. JavaJabber said,

    Okay, okay. So I’m old. I remember watching the show. I mean, it was Donnie after all!

    Now if you start talking about Micky Dollenz, Mike Nesmith, Davy Jones, and oh be still my heart, Peter Tork … I’m going to have to pretend I never heard of you or them!

  5. Teri said,

    Java, I watched “The Monkeys” as a kid as well but I’m not sure if it was in syndication at that point, it was probably the mid 70’s.

  6. Doctor Mom said,

    I loved Donny– and wasn’t ever too sure about Marie

    I had Donny on my wall… I knew that his birthday was December 9th (apparently still do) that his favorite number was 14, favorite color was purple, and his brothers included Merrill, Wayne, Alan, Jay, Tommy, and the little guy, Jimmy. His mom was named Olive, who recently passed away, and father I can’t remember for sure, but think it may have been Tom also.

    I was going to marry Donny and have his 17 children… he apparently never found me yet.

    But I talked to Greg Brady on the phone once!

  7. Sans Pantaloons said,

    I was never that taken with Donny’s music. I was more aligned with David Cassidy.
    I did like the Osmonds as a group though. I still rate Crazy Horses.
    A picture of me in 1976 gear with real long hair can be found Here.

  8. Doctor Mom said,

    Sans– If I’m not mistaken, your photo is more closely aligned with the 80’s Hair Bands…now that’s some BIG hair!

    David Cassidy was another of my fantasies… he hung on the opposite wall of Donny’s poster in my room…. ah but to fall asleep with David Cassidy on one side of me and Donny on the other….

  9. Grant Miller said,

    Please keep this to yourself, but Marie Osmond was one of my first crushes.

  10. teri said,

    Grant, I won’t tell!

    I liked her too but in a girl/hero kind of way.

Leave a Reply

