Movie Review – UPDATED

January 1, 2007 at 5:53 pm (Uncategorized)

I saw “An American Haunting”. It was pretty good but the ending blew me away. It was a tad bit slow but good otherwise. It did not scare me however, weird!

Added bonus: saw “Memoirs of a Geisha” over the weekend as well. Wow! What a good movie and I cried like a little girl at the ending. Not sure if you’ll like it if you’re a guy but I really enjoyed it. Rent it, you’ll enjoy it.

I also saw a movie that my friend, George, worked on in Orlando. He was the Lead Scenic. The “Blair Witch Project” guys did it but they didn’t release it, they pushed it straight to dvd. I think the New York City premiere went badly and they were nervous to release it to movie status. The movie was pretty good, not too gory or intense but good. The name is Altered, look it up, maybe see it and tell me how you like it.

Okay, I know a few of you have seen this movie and mentioned it on your blogs. That’s why I rented it as soon as it came out on DVD. This was a great cast of characters. I like everyone, even the little girl, who I had never seen before. The brother was hysterical, especially after he started talking. I was laughing and snorting the whole time and even though they got into some sticky situations, I still enjoyed it. Usually “sticky situations” make me cringe. I especially enjoyed the pageant and the dancing. Good times!

I have a membership to Netflix, so my next movie will be “An American Haunting”. I wanted to see this movie because it looked historical and the fact that it would scare the crap out of me without all the blood and nastiness. I enjoy scary movies that make my imagination work even though they will not show anything. Loved the “Blair Witch Project” just for this fact.

Based on true events that took place in Tennessee during the 1800s, An American Haunting tells the story of the only documented case in U.S. history (validated by the State of Tennessee) in which a spirit caused a person’s death. With over 20 books written on the subject, and a town that still lives in fear of the spiritës return, the story is terrifying.

16 Comments

  1. Malnurtured Snay said,

    I want to see LMS!

  2. Mel said,

    I got Little miss sunshine saturday from netflix too. I had seen it before but its one you can watch over and over again. Hubby saw it for the first time too. I liked grandpa the best, but they were all so good! You are right, that boy is bound to go places.

  3. Amy said,

    I haven’t seen either, but am interested in both.

    Currently I have rented Click and Pulse. I’ll watch Click with the family and Pulse with just my boyfriend.

    Enjoy your movie, Teri!!

  4. Mr. Fabulous said,

    Glad you liked Little Miss Sunshine. I think it was one of the best movies this year.

  5. Cayman said,

    Haven’t seen LMS but it is on my Netflix list. As for An American Haunting – creepy as hell! It was different then I thought it would be but I liked it. Sissy Spacek and Donald Suthreland are great in it. The girl who plays the young daughter does a great job in her role as a Linda Blair type from the 1800s.

  6. Sunshine said,

    I’m a Netflix whore myself, so I think I should probably be moving LMS up in my queue, I have yet to talk to someone who didn’t love it.

  7. catacuracha said,

    no scary movies for me thank you! My mind is active enough!

  8. Lori said,

    I can’t watch scary movies, either, though I wish I could, because AAH looks really good. Let us know how it is!

    Happy New Year!!

  9. Charlie Blockhead said,

    Don’t watch AAH alone … you’ll be hearing ” Do you beleive in the Lord” all night in your dreams! I want to see LMS too, glad to hear everyone likes it. Hope you have a Happy New Year!

  10. Amy said,

    LMAO @ charlie blockhead… after we watched “The Exorcism of Emily Rose” my 12 year old kept hearing “I am the one…” all night and couldn’t sleep… LOL!

    I’m such a mean mother.

  11. Sans Pantaloons said,

    Happy New Year Teri!

  12. catacuracha said,

    happy new year!

  13. JavaJabber said,

    LMS is in my Netflix queue but it says “long wait.” I’ve read a lot of blog reviews and I can’t wait to see it.

    Happy New Year!

  14. Scarlet said,

    Spirits were the cause of death of my uncle. Vodka spirits caused him NOT to hear the train coming down the track. SPLAT!!

    Boom boom… champagne comedy here!!!

  15. Cayman said,

    I finally saw LMS. It was great!! I loved it.

  16. Zed said,

    I freaked out at just the trailer for American Haunting. I really don’t do well with those sorts of movies since I’ve had bit of a scarey encounter with spirits in the distant past. Not fun!

    I absolutely must see Little Miss Sunshine some day soon. And the Will Smith film…I hear it’s wonderful and he’s the best ever.

Leave a Reply

