House for Sale – SOLD

January 4, 2007 at 2:36 pm (Uncategorized)

Happy 2007 folks.

Well, the house has been sold. Just found out yesterday. I have 30 days to find a new house and move. This should be challenging but I’m thrilled. They made an offer of about $5,000 less than my asking price, which is fine, considering the kitchen needs to be updated.

I also sold my Bally’s Lifetime membership yesterday on ebay. I’ve had this membership since 1984 but I don’t use it that much because the gym in my area is always packed, both the parking lots and the machines, that it was really useless to have the membership. I even tried the Bally’s down the street from my job but it was the same thing, packed!

And, a Word merge process that normally takes about 2 days to complete because I’m merging over 400 records has been consolidated, literally, into about 5 minutes. Our Microsoft Word guru, here at work, gave me a plug-in for the software which allowed the merging to name each document a specific name and to merge every document (422 docs) in 5 minutes. I was so happy yesterday I could have danced down the halls. It doesn’t take much. We do this each quarter so I dreaded this time period. And considering I ALWAYS get interrupted for long periods of time and our server goes down sometimes, this process alleviates all that. Did I mention that I’M THRILLED ABOUT THIS?????

I also have my last class starting in a couple of weeks, Sociology. I originally took an online class but failed. I’m still trying to figure that one out. I’ve never failed a class.

It’s going to be a crazy month but I can’t wait to find a new house and move. The New Year has been good so far. There’s only one more really important thing that I want this year. Keep your fingers crossed that I get it.

19 Comments

  1. Chris said,

    Sounds like some exciting stuff going on. Good luck with the house search!

  2. JavaJabber said,

    OMG! 30 days? To find a house, pack, AND move?

    I couldn’t do it. Not a chance. It took me 9 months once to find a house, pack and move. Well, 7 months to find the house THEN pack and move. And I wasn’t even being super picky … except for the bathrooms, oh and the neighborhood, and um, maybe about the color of the house, and then there’s the type of trees growing in the yard, and whether the mailperson is short or tall … no, no, no — 30 days is NOT enough time~!

    I used to train folks on Word for years. I still use it. Love Word.

    Loved the mail merge process. Of course, I’m sure it’s changed a lot since the last time I had to merge anything (5 years ago!).

    One of my goals was to get together all the stuff I want to sell on eBay and just do it. I’ve been procrastinating because I’ve never sold anything on eBay … have bought stuff but never sold. Is it difficult?

    Are you THRILLED OR WHAT? LOL

  3. teri said,

    Thanks, Chris.

    JJ, you kill me. Most of my stuff is already packed (books, etc.) and I’m a minimalist so I don’t have tons of stuff. It’s only a two bedroom townhome so again, not much stuff to move. My only dilemma is making both settlements be on the same day without losing my mind. I’m also getting movers so coordinating everything makes my head spin. I originally wanted 60 days but the buyer wants 30 so we’ll do that. Hopefully when I buy the new house the owners will agree to the same time schedule. I HATE THIS buying and selling at the same time.

    I’m sure the mail merge has changed. I used to use WordPerfect at one of my other jobs when I really used the merge feature. I’ve just starting using merge again within the past three years so I’m still figuring things out. But this latest tidbit really made me so happy.

    Selling on ebay is a snap, nothing to it. If you’ve brought stuff you can sell it. The website basically walks you through the process so there are no problems. Try it. You’ll love it.

  4. mixednut said,

    Good luck with the move Teri.
    My house is currently on the market.
    Interested?

  5. Dick Small said,

    So what’s the “other thing” that you’re crossing your fingers for?

  6. teri said,

    MN, no, I think I’ll stay in Jersey. California’s about to have an earthquake and fall into the ocean anyway.

    Dick, I could tell you but then I would have to kill you since it’s a secret at the moment. Who wants that on their conscience? You know how “too much information” gets you in trouble?

  7. Dick Small said,

    Believe me, i KNOW..

  8. Dick Small said,

    BTW, Teri, if you don’t get a place right away, I have a 3rd bedroom. Of course it’s Bear’s room and he sleeps on the bed, but I’ve got a sleeping bag and a couple of pillows. Let me know. Of course, you can’t move your stuff in, though. Sorry.

  9. Teri said,

    Dick, thanks. Most appreciated. Will save your offer as the last resort. Do you think bear would compromise and let me have the bed a few nights?

    just askin…….

  10. Lori said,

    Yay! This is all wonderful news! I know how stressful the whole home buying experience is! Good luck with the rest of it, I’m sure it will go great!!

    PS – is it wrong that I initially read that class as “Scientology” instead of “Sociology”? Eeep!

  11. mixednut said,

    But Teri, when everything west of the San Andreas goes, you’ll have beachfront property!

    jus’ sayin’

  12. teri said,

    MN, did not even think of this scenario. I guess I’ll have to pull my millions together for this beachfront property in the New California.

    that’s what you’re selling your house for, right? Millions?

  13. Chad said,

    Teri~
    I would look hot in those udies, i just know i would!! Good luck on the house hunt and the sale, i help people with that on a daily basis!! Its stressful but alot of fun đŸ™‚

  14. teri said,

    Lori, the Scientology thing would never happen to me but yeah, that was funny.

  15. Winter said,

    30 days?! How can you not be stressed?

  16. teri said,

    Winter, maybe I’m not stressed YET because it just happened. I’ll probably be stressed near the end of the 30 days as everything is coming to a close and everything has to be coordinated.

    This is very unlike me, I get stressed when I have a number of things to do and have to make them all work in a timely fashion.

  17. JavaJabber said,

    OH, so hiring movers is what I should have done the other 35 times I moved???

    Our biggest move was from CA to PA. That was a huge nightmare. Shipped the van. The furniture. Took a train ride across the country. Got left behind in New Mexico … had to rent a car and drive the rest of the way.

    Long story for another day …

    All I have to do now is hear the sound of a tape coming off a roll … screech! And I get all goosebumpy and have a panic attack!

    9 months of packing from a 4-bedroom house to a 2-bedroom condo and 17 rolls of tape later … see what I mean?

    I told hubby the only way I’d move again is (a.) we win the lottery and I just take the safe in the closet and leave everything else behind (b) they carry me out in a body bag.

    And I meant it.

  18. Zed said,

    30 days to move is an awfully short time! Can you get an extension?

    Congratulations on the house sale, Teri! Yippee!

  19. Teri said,

    Zed, the 30 days is contingent on me finding another house. So I feel a little better about that.

    BUT if one more person says “why don’t you rent an apartment in the meantime” OR “you can stay with me until you find something”, I’m gonna scream. I want to move from this house to the new house and make NO stops in between.

Leave a Reply

