Can’t Wait Till It’s OVER!!!

January 31, 2007 at 11:53 pm (Uncategorized)

So, you know how my two house settlements were supposed to take place today? Well, they didn’t.

Here’s the story:

My agent calls me yesterday at about noon. She tells me to sit down. I say “is it bad”? She says “YES”.

Supposedly, the buyer for my house didn’t get her proof of homeowners insurance to her mortgage company in time. The underwriters got all her paperwork, I guess, yesterday. They have a turn around time of 24-48 hours. This means settlement can’t happen, for either of my houses.

My question is this: why does the homeowners insurance make everything come to a screeching halt? Her mortgage company was trying to blame the Title Company for something, they then turned around and said “We didn’t say that”. My crazy friend, Cindy, calls the buyer after I left her house in a crazy rage. Supposedly no one told the buyer that she HAD to have this document to them by a certain date. No one told her pretty much anything. Not her agent, not her mortgage company. No one. When I bought my house eight years ago, I believe I was still getting my insurance right before settlement, like that same day and nothing had to stop.

And just so you know, in Jersey you have to have homeowners insurance or the mortgage company has a hissy fit. You HAVE to have insurance to have a mortgage in this State. Which makes total sense to me.

Then, they come to her and I and say “Oops, sorry. Settlement can’t happen tomorrow. Maybe Tuesday or Wednesday of next week”.

Now I didn’t like they way they apologized either. Like “sorry, we’ll have to reschedule this appointment”, like they were changing a doctors appointment or something. No big deal, right?

Yeah, right! For those of you who have done the buying/selling of a house, you know the deal.

I had to reschedule the movers and undo my utilities. My mail is going to the new address, as of today, because I couldn’t stop it on short notice. I’m surrounded by 5 million boxes. I have no frig because I got rid of the old one this past weekend. I didn’t go to my Sociology class tonight because I thought I would be crazy with moving and settlement and therefore, didn’t do my reading assignment. I took this week off work and now have to go in tomorrow and Friday and take off whatever days next week. I’ll have to deal with my class next week with all of the chaos, etc.

I think I’m numb at this point. I thought I was just calm and at peace but Cindy thinks I’m just numb. I think I agree with her.

Anybody got any booze? Or weed? Either one will do. Thanks.

9 Comments

  1. mixednut said,

    I think besides the loss of a loved one, moving is the most stressful event in one’s life.
    Hang in there Teri!

    *takes huge drag*

    ‘ere.

  2. Teri said,

    mixednut, you are the BEST! Now I have the munchies. Got any chocolate?

  3. Jen said,

    can I get some of that?

    I’m eating reeses pieces
    I can share..

  4. Teri said,

    absolutely, Jen. passing it your way……….

    now how about some reeses pieces?

  5. Nobody said,

    Huh, I’ve never tried that stuff. Is it good? Shall I try a drag or two?

    I would be insane right now if I were you.

  6. Dick Small said,

    Teri I am so sorry. Hang in there. It’ll be alright.

  7. SushiBoy said,

    Ugh that stinks, both the situation and the weed 🙂 I agree with Nobody, I’d be going slightly insane in your position

  8. Chris said,

    Man, what a pain in the ass, Teri. My heart goes out to you.

  9. Zed said,

    It’s never a big deal to THEM that they’ve screwed up someone’s move–why should THEY worry?

    Anyway, don’t freak out, Teri, and try to make it through the next few days in one piece. You’ll get through this. And then you’ll be in your nice new place in a great little town.

    (God, I hate moving. If I could avoid it for the rest of my life I’d like to.)

    Are there any Reese’s pieces left?

Leave a Reply

