Homeless

February 28, 2007 at 8:38 pm (Uncategorized)

This made me really sit up and notice:

“There were an estimated 754,000 homeless people in the United States, in shelters or living on the streets on a single night in January 2005, U.S. officials said in a report to Congress.”

I know this is an epidemic and we have alot of folks here in Philly that are homeless. It’s a daily reminder when I’m walking to/from work. That number of 754,000 is a staggering number though. I try to give to Philabundance at least once a year and for about $100 which, supposedly, can feed about 400 people. This makes me happy but it doesn’t put a roof over their heads and a job in their pockets.

8 Comments

  1. Mr. Fabulous said,

    It definitely is scary, even more so when you consider in a lot of cases how fast it can happen to some people…

  2. snowywoodz said,

    I’ve lived in my car before. A Chevette. It made me appreciate what I have now, for sure.

  3. snowywoodz said,

    … although I suppose I could have afforded an apartment if I hadn’t spent all my money on pot. But hey, if you’ve got a bag, you don’t NEED an apartment…

  4. snowywoodz said,

    … or groceries, or utilities..

  5. teri said,

    Snowy – only you could think this way.

    Fab – I agree. some of us are only a few paychecks away from this possibility

  6. Anonymous said,

    Philabundance does good work. So do you.

    Williams Brother

  7. Dick Small said,

    You know, there are many people in third-world countries who would say: “if you’re living in America, and you don’t have what you want, it’s your own fault”. Teri, you didn’t grow up in a wealthy family, yet you’re earning 7 figures. Judge Judy didn’t grow up in a wealthy family, yet she’s one of the richest women in America. Then there’s Oprah, Judge Joe Brown, Johnny Carson, George Burns, the list is endless. I don’t have alot, but I never applied myself in life, and I’m lucky to have what I’ve got. I could have concentrated in school, gone to college, etc. I’m where I am because of my own choices. I believe if you live in America, you’ve got no excuse not to do well.

  8. Bill Clark said,

    I’m the Exec. Dir. of Philabundance. The homeless situation is scary and getting worse. However, in fairness you need to understand the definition of “homeless”. It’s the people who are not living in their own domicile, not just the “street people”. The vast majority of “homeless” live in municipal shelters. It’s still scary, and its true that we can get a good meal to people who need it for less that 25 cents per meal.
    We need all the help we can get. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

