DNA testing…..what family branch are you on?

March 7, 2007 at 12:00 am (Uncategorized)

I’m an administrator for a few of my surnames through familytreedna.com. This means that I can see all the “behind the scenes” stuff that other people can’t see. DNA testing is very private and we don’t like to give any information other than the test results and the family history of that person. We don’t give out the person’s name who tested.

This website allows people to do DNA testing to determine where their family might originate from and from what family line they are from depending on their surname. The testing is very easy (cotton swabs) and not alot of money, depending on what test you take. The only unfortunate issue? You have to be a male with that exact surname to test, even though your DNA might match other testers without the same surname. Does that make sense? Males carry the Y chromosome that is needed for DNA testing and which follows the male line through your family.

The past couple of days have been picking up with a few of my surnames, especially my given surname, which has been kind of slow lately. Someone just joined and has his results already because he originally joined another DNA testing site and contributed to my surname site on Family Tree DNA. It usually takes 6-8 weeks to get test results back.

He actually matches my family line, so I can’t wait to get his family information and see if we can match the family members. This is the Irish side of my family. The other gentleman who matches actually has a different last name, his name starts with a “Mc”, which is interesting!

This makes genealogy more fun, when you have different avenues to research like this.

I actually did the DNA testing but it only reads my female line and tells you where your female line originated from. This doesn’t help me since I don’t know where my gg grandmother came from or anything about her parents. I know the male line of that surname originated in England or Scotland but that’s about all I know.

11 Comments

  1. SushiBoy said,

    Neato post. I never knew about DNA and geneology before, very cool subject.

  2. SushiBoy said,

    ahem… I never knew about how DNA was being used in Geneology. That was kinda a vague statement. It makes perfect sense to trace your genes through your genes. 🙂

  3. teri said,

    Sushiboy – hahaha, I knew what you meant.

  4. mixednut said,

    Getting in touch with your roots Teri?

  5. teri said,

    for the past 9 years, mixednut. luckily there hasn’t been too much dirt and moss gathering.

  6. mixednut said,

    I would do mine, but I think I’d be barking up the wrong tree.
    Best to just leaf it alone.

  7. teri said,

    maybe you’ll be able to find someone in the leaf pile at the base of the tree?

  8. mixednut said,

    Now that’s going out on a limb.

  9. teri said,

    mixednut – you’d end up being the lone leaf blowin in the wind…

    *shrug*

    okay, I got nuttin funny or poetic to say….

  10. mixednut said,

    Sorry Teri,
    I’m such a sap…ling.

  11. Teri said,

    you’re a funny guy!

    even if you are a sap!

Leave a Reply

