Changing Careers

March 9, 2007 at 5:23 pm (Uncategorized)

I’ve got a dilemma. Last May I graduated with my Associates Degree in Computer Graphics. I could do a few different things with this degree but I’ve been thinking about being a graphic designer. I’ve been an Administrative Assistant for a million years and need to move on.

My dilemma is I just found out what my new raise will be (we get our raises every year at this time) and I’ll be close to the halfway point of the six figure mark. I don’t know what graphic designers earn and since I don’t have work experience I was thinking I really need to do a lot of research to find out or I need to just stay in my current field.

Does anyone know of a site somewhere with this kind of information or is anyone in the field that could help me answer this question. Isn’t that Casual Slack woman a graphic designer?

Leave me a comment, please, or email me. Thanks.

5 Comments

  1. Just Dave said,

    Hi, Teri, Try this link:

    http://content.monster.com/GetTheJob/industry/12/home.aspx

    They usually have some pretty good information about industry norms. Have fun and good luck.

  2. Grant Miller said,

    I thought yahoo even had some salary type calculator type thing somewhere on their site.

    But when it comes to financial issues, the site I use the most is
    http://www.fool.com Motley Fool, certainly would have something on this.

  3. Nobody™ said,

    salary.com

  4. mixednut said,

  5. Teri said,

    why didn’t I think of that, mixednut? I have the resources right in my backyard and it could supplement my income in the meantime.

    thanks for all the comments and emails. you guys are the best.

Leave a Reply

