Éire go brách

March 10, 2007 at 3:30 pm (Uncategorized)

Or, as the Americans say, Erin Go Bragh “Ireland Forever“, as the saying means.

It’s Irish week here at Family Tree Junkie. Saturday is St. Patty’s Day and drinking will be had by many people, the Irish and non Irish alike.

My father’s family is Irish. Almost my whole line of men married Irish women, except for my grandfather and father, so I really feel the Irish in my blood.

Ireland is a beautiful country. The people are very friendly, welcoming and down to earth. No matter where you travel on the green isle, you can’t help but take in the beautiful scenery and wonderful people.

When I traveled there three years ago, as I sat upon the tour bus, I was plotting and planning to move there. If I wasn’t so scared to change the way I’m used to living, I would move there in a heartbeat. I would love to open a Bed & Breakfast in one of the counties, maybe in the county where my family originated, County Sligo. I felt such a connection and want to return so very bad.

7 Comments

  1. Nobody™ said,

    I’ve got a bit of Irish in me, too.

  2. SushiBoy said,

    I would like to visit Ireland one day. I’ve got lots of Irish in me. Almost all my ansecestry come from the islands of Great Britain.

  3. Scarlet said,

    Aahhh St Patricks Day, green beer leads to green vomit. Hey, its traditional!

    It would be great to move there. Out country, not in the cities.

  4. Just Dave said,

    I’m Scotch-Irish so I get to mix my Jamesons with Talisker 12 year old single malt. Slainte, ye crabbit gits.

  5. Cayman said,

    I’m 100% Irish but alas, I am allergic to alcohol. Betcha haven’t heard that before.

    Luckily, I’m a helluva lot of fun sober.

  6. teri said,

    Cayman, believe it or not, I have heard this before. what in alcohol are you allergic too?

    it’s more fun being sober. no sickness and room spinning to deal with.

  7. danny boy said,

    are cayman & teri friends of Bill W & Dr.Bob

Leave a Reply

