Moved to a new town

April 2, 2007 at 10:26 pm (Uncategorized)

Tada! I’m back! Phew, that was/is exhausting!

I finally sold my house and bought my new one. Settlement was on Friday and was a complete NIGHTMARE! The sale of my house was supposed to be at 10:00 a.m. The buyer’s mortgage company didn’t get all the documents to the title company until 1:00 p.m. The purchase of my new house was supposed to be at 1:00 p.m. Their mortgage company also messed up some of the numbers and they had to change the HUD papers at least twice. The buyer also had her real estate agent translating as she wasn’t that fluent in English. That’s okay folks, I have NO WHERE ELSE TO BE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The movers had everything packed and were at the new house by 12:30 p.m. and had to wait because I didn’t buy the new house yet. In fact, they sat outside the house until about 3:30 p.m. Guess when overtime starts? 4:00 p.m. I had to pay over $400 more in overtime fees because of the delays. Do you think the mortgage company or the buyers were apologetic? NO!

Anyway, I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the new home. My comfort level has gone up 100% and I’ve even been away from the house and did not lock my doors. That’s how comfortable I am here. The neighborhood is great and there’s flowers and chimes and comfort all over the place. I will take pictures when I get most of my junk put away. It’s exhausting just putting everything away and my body is screaming at me. I’ve used muscles I haven’t used in a long time.

For those of you who thought I had a boob job, that will be my next project. just kidding. really, I’m just kidding.

I’ve missed all of you and need to get caught up on my reading. Hopefully by the end of the week. It’s back to work tomorrow and the craziness begins there as well.

Thanks for being patient. Hopefully it was worth the wait.

15 Comments

  1. Sans Pantaloons said,

    Congratulations Teri! You sound happy! Tired but happy.
    Home sweet home.

  2. SushiBoy said,

    Congrats!

  3. Just Dave said,

    Great news, Teri. Moving to a new area can be daunting but it is excting, too. Because of my job, I have moved a lot. I hope you have some good neighbors.

    My next move will probably be to Bob’s Home for the Disgracefully Aged.

  4. Nobody™ said,

    enjoy the new place!

  5. Dick Small said,

    Well I could say a lame “congratulations” like, oh well, most people. HOWEVER, Teri, I’m sending you a CASHIER’S CHECK for $5,000 to furnish your new home. “Congratulations”… how cheap is that???????

  6. Dick Small said,

    Seriously, Teri, consider the boob job. They’ll go so well with your new place..

  7. Chris said,

    There’s something to be said for comfort! Congrats, Teri! The nightmare is over!

  8. N said,

    Yay! Very happy for you, Teri.

    You sooooo should have told us you got a boob job, though. 🙂

  9. Doctor Mom said,

    Hi Teri!
    Congratulations!!!
    I am trying to play catch up on the last 3 months of reading since I took my Technology Moratorium!

    I’ll be dropping by more often.

    In the mean time, I have Doctor Mom’s Place up and running at a different “home” also

  10. Jen said,

    Congrats!!!!

  11. teri said,

    Thanks for all the comments!

    Dr. Mom – I’ve missed you. I’m coming to visit…

    how do folks get boob jobs? Do they have to take a personal loan?

  12. Grant Miller said,

    Congratulations on your new home. I hope the movers were especially careful when moving your blog.

  13. Lynda said,

    Congratulations! They make you sign a book, don’t they? We did it when we bought our house and refinanced. It was a pain.

  14. teri said,

    Grant – they were extra careful with the blog.

    Lynda – it wasn’t a “book” but it was tons of paperwork, on the buyers side anyway. The seller doesn’t have to sign much.

    Dick – thanks. the money will come in handy.

  15. Amy said,

    I’m lame, and I’m not giving you a cashiers check. Just a Congrats!!

Leave a Reply

