What profession were they?

April 13, 2007 at 2:30 pm (Uncategorized)

Do any of you know what professions your ancestors held before 1900? For example, every one of my lines, both from my mom and dad, were farmers. None of them were doctors, store owners, postmen, etc. They were all farmers, working the land, and most of them had more than 5 kids to help.

Here are some of the places that they farmed:

1. Illinois
2. Ohio

3. Iowa
4. Nebraska
5. Arkansas
6. Tennessee
7. Texas
8. Oklahoma
19 Comments

  1. Just Dave said,

    My paternal gradnfathers folks were farmers from way back. Paternal granny’s dad was a train station master. Don’t know much about my moms folks but I am pretty sure they were farmers too.

    I did look up my 3Xgreat-grandfather in the 1840 census and found out that he owned 6 slaves so I am sorry, any black folks tuning in (but I’m not sending you any money).

  2. Just Dave said,

    PS – On my fathers side, they started out in New Jersey in 1756, headed off to Kentucky after the Revolution and would up in Texas just in time to fight the Mexicans.

  3. Doctor Mom said,

    Teri-
    That’s amazing that you find this stuff out!

    The spouse is beginning to work on some of this now. He’s looking at different software programs etc.,

    Any advice you can offer would be great!

  4. teri said,

    Dave, that’s cool. I’m glad you know this info. One of my branches started out in Jersey/Delaware as well and ended up in Ohio. And a few lines on my mom’s side (not my direct line) owned slaves. They lived in Mississippi and Kentucky so you can understand why. Some of these slaves even took the last name so any black folks with this last name originated from the slaves of that branch. Anyone with this last name originated from 7 original people in the family so we know they are all related.

    Dr. Mom, I find alot of this info through the census. It’s available from 1790 through 1930 at the moment.

    I use Family Tree Maker software. I really like it and you can add notes, photos, etc. to it for a specific person.

  5. Just Dave said,

    I was lucky. One of my Texas ancestors was semi-famous back in the Republic of Texas days and three women got together and did his whole family tree back to Scotland. It makes some interesting reading.

  6. Doctor Mom said,

    Cool! Thanks, I’ll let him know

  7. Mr. Fabulous said,

    I am afraid to trace my roots. Whatever I find, it won’t be good.

  8. teri said,

    Mr. Fab, please. My grandfather went to jail for attempted murder, his brother went to jail for murder and died in jail. What’s more crazy than that? Find out who your peeps are! You’ll thank yourself for having the idea.

  9. Fantastagirl said,

    That is interesting.

    Most of my relatives were farmers, and they were farmers before that. When my Great-Grandfather came to America at the age of 14, he did a variety of things – from being a professional wrestler, a cook on a train, until he bought some land, and became a farmer, the land is still in the family.

  10. Sunshine said,

    Teri, you may find out we’re related yet! I’m only two generations removed from Iowa farmers, so we’re getting there, eh?

  11. teri said,

    Sunshine – these are the counties in Iowa: Pottawattamie and Clinton

  12. Grant Miller said,

    My grandfathers on both sides were procurers.

  13. teri said,

    Mr. Miller, that’s great. I see you carried on this family tradition?!

  14. Nikki-ann said,

    Pretty much all mine were farmers/agricultural labourers near the English/Welsh border (on both sides).

  15. Amy said,

    Things I’ve been able to track all point to farmer, too. And of course it always says the “wife” was “keeping house”.

    The farthest I’ve traced has shown a guy who was an “Indian Scout” during the French and Indian war.

  16. Sunshine said,

    Well, Teri, your ancestors got around, those counties are on completely opposite sides of the state from each other. I don’t have any from those counties that I know of, but maybe our great great great grandfathers bartered some corn for a cow or something, that would have been cool. Yeah, let’s just go with that.

  17. teri said,

    Sonja, sounds like a plan.

    I think they settled in Clinton County after moving into the States from Canada. My ggg grandfather also had two brothers living in Illinois and that’s probably the reason for Clinton County. The other county is close to Nebraska where they eventually settled.

    I wonder if they got a good price for that cow?

  18. Skylers Dad said,

    I can trace my ancestors all the way back to when the gold rush started here in Colorado! In 1859, gold was found in my old home town of Idaho Springs, way up in the mountains. They didn’t know how to mine in hard rock then, so they went to England in search of help. So along came my family from Cornwall, England. All miners, all tough. I am such a wimp compared to those early ancestors…

  19. Anon. Blogger said,

    One of my ancestors plowed up native Missouri prarie land. The farm is still in the family, last I heard.

    My family of origin all born in Pottawatamie County, Iowa. Me too.

    Iowa folks were welders, barber, typesetter (a woman, no less!).

    It is fun to look into this stuff, isn’t it? It’s like detective work. Maybe I’ll post about it soon.

    Enjoyed finding your blog!

Leave a Reply

