Who’s been living in my house?

April 19, 2007 at 12:33 am (Uncategorized)

I was intrigued about who lived in my house before me and I looked into census information and found that the same family lived in the house from 1910 through 1930 and maybe beyond. The house was built in 1900 but the census for that year was done in June and the house was probably being built at that time. There are nine houses in my little section and they were all built at the same time and they were the only houses on this street until after 1930. The following family lived here according to the 1910 census:

Charles Schlosser; born about 1878 in Pennsylvania
Lidie (Lizzie?) Schlosser; his wife; born about 1878 in Pennsylvania
Merrill Schlosser; his son, born about 1904 in Pennsylvania
Ashton Schlosser; his son, born about 1907 in Pennsylvania
Kate Schlosser; his mother, born about 1855 in Pennsylvania


By 1920 they had a daughter, Harriett, born about 1912 in New Jersey. They only had three children.

In the 1900 census, Charles is living with his parents, Charles and Kate, in Philadelphia. Charles was born in November of 1877.

After looking at the census and realizing that the boys were born in Pennsylvania, I would assume another family lived in the house before 1910 but since there is no census, I don’t know who they are. Charles’ occupation was a “pill compressor”. Interesting. Is that like a “pill pusher”? I’ll have to look that occupation up and let you know.

See why I like genealogy, you find out some cool stuff!

9 Comments

  1. Doctor Mom said,

    I would venture a guess that a pill compressor was much like a pharmacist– taking powders from pestal and mortar mixtures and compressing them into a pill format?

    How interesting!!

    I knew some Schlossers– but from MN

    It’s fun to find this stuff!

  2. Jen said,

    did you search the attic for
    money or riches that may have been left behind???

  3. teri said,

    Jen, I don’t have an attic. Believe me, that would have been the first place I hit.

  4. Nikki-ann said,

    Sadly, our house isn’t all that old, but I have been looking at who lived in some of my ancestors homes.

  5. Amy said,

    oooh! I’ll have to do what nikki-ann is doing. My house has only been owned by my landlord.

  6. Dick Small said,

    Sometimes Lidie is short for Adelaide …. okay so I’m totally making that up, but I don’t really have much to offer on this one..

  7. Just Dave said,

    If you really want to get into some tedious research, you can check (1) deeds of trust issued in 1900-01. Might be available in city archives and (2) building permits for the same period, if they were required. Both these things are public information.

  8. Nobody™ said,

    I read the entire abstract for both houses I’ve owned. Interesting stuff, even though both houses have only dated back to the 1960’s.

    I found some interesting notes in a basement drawer of our first house that a previous owner had written. She was working on plans to remodel/expand the house. At the time that we found them we had just finished plans for expansion, amazingly both plans were nearly identical! I haven’t found anything good in our current house.

  9. Anonymous said,

    Our house has kind of a sad history. Lots of divorces before us and the people we bought the house from. That’s all I know.
    Superwoman

Leave a Reply

