Perceptions

May 7, 2007 at 5:33 pm (Uncategorized)

When I was three years old, my aunt and uncle lived in the same town that I just moved to. They lived on a dead end street with a water tower next to their house. I remember looking up at this water tower and getting dizzy. Probably because I’m scared of heights and when you’re three years old and looking up at something monstrous, who wouldn’t get dizzy.

I think my aunt, not the aunt above, told me what street they lived on and I recently went to visit. Well, perceptions are a strange thing when you’re a child compared to when you are an adult. The water tower was not like I remembered but it was still there. It was in front of the large creek that runs through the town. I never knew this body of water existed behind the tower and the little water plant that it’s attached to. The house is still there but not like I remembered. I remember the house and the water tower being farther apart and having no fence around the tower.

As a little girl, my friend Cindy, believed that her mother threw a firecracker at Cindy’s grandmother. This really devasted Cindy and was one of many reasons Cindy didn’t like her mother. It came to be known from another relative that a guy had thrown the firecracker up and over the balcony that they were sitting on. Cindy could not see this happen because she was little. She just saw it fly through the air and she thought her mother was the culprit.

Folks that I’ve been talking to lately have been talking about their “perceptions” when they were kids or about their kids. It’s interesting what our mind remembers or doesn’t remember and how the stories can get so twisted.

Anyone else have this happen to them?

1 Comment

  1. Amy said,

    I remember a few years ago I was driving through Chicago, so decided to drive by the house I lived in until I was about 4. The whole neighborhood seemed smaller to me now, but it mostly looked like I remembered.

Leave a Reply

