Seven wonders of the world

May 19, 2007 at 8:39 pm (Uncategorized)

I posed this question to Lori awhile back and after really thinking about it I was very intrigued by the whole thing. For some reason, the seven wonders of the ancient world seems very surreal to me, like most of them never existed and they are just myths people made up. Probably because most of them were destroyed so long ago. I would love to see every last one of these spectacular creations but my main choice would be the Pyramids, considering they are the only ones left standing.

11 Comments

  1. Just Dave said,

    It’s fairly certain that the Colossus of Rhodes and the Lighthouse at Alexandria existed as described. Evidence has been found for the Hanging Gardens of Babylon but they were not anywhere near as large as described. If I could be certain not to be machine-gunned like one group of tourists were, I would really like to see the Eqyptian Pyramids and the Temple of Karnak

  2. Skylers Dad said,

    Skyler did a report for school a couple years back on the original 7.

    It was fun for me because I didn’t remember a lot about them, I would have wanted to see the Colossus of Rhodes also.

    Did you know that the Pyramids used to have a covering of finely finished stones that were stolen when they were first rediscovered?

  3. Doctor Mom said,

    Eh!
    I can’t make the image bigger so I can read it 😦

    I would like to see the Pyramids (particularly since I don’t recall what the others are)

  4. Teri said,

    Dr. Mom – you can click on the link and see what they are. I couldn’t get the picture to work correctly.

  5. Anon. Blogger said,

    I was thinking the same thing a few months ago!

    I like the updated lists, though. Not to discount the original at all, but the Grand Canyon had to exist then, no? I’m not sure and too tired to check myself.

    The Grand Canyon, without tourists and crowds, all alone, when it is quiet is amazing. A Wonder! And not made by man.

  6. Doctor Mom said,

    Ok, I remain a little sllllooooooooowwwww

    What do you expect from a mother of a 15 year-old girl? She’s sucked out all of my brain power just trying to keep her alive!

    So– it seems earthquakes are a problem for wonders and relics

    I thought the Grand Canyon was in there somewhere??

    Perhaps I heard that in the 70’s, then I pretty much couldn’t differentiate between reality and “dreams”

  7. Teri said,

    I think the Grand Canyon isn’t on this list because it’s not man made.

    That would probably be on the “seven wonders of the natural world” list.

  8. Cayman said,

    Egypt is the best vacation you will ever take. I enjoyed every second. The pyramids and the Temple at Karnak are incredible. I was left speechless (which doesn’t happen that often). It’s a must see!!!

  9. cheer34 said,

    I want to see Stonehenge.

  10. Lynda said,

    I am surprised the Great Wall isn’t one.

  11. Teri aka "Peach Pit" said,

    Lynda – me too. The Great Wall is amazing looking.

Leave a Reply

