Goodbye Lakota, you will be missed

June 26, 2007 at 8:04 pm (George)

My friend, George, emailed me early this morning to tell me his beloved dog, Lakota, had passed away. I was heartbroken.

Lakota is half wolf, half husky. She was not a barker. Most wolf breeds are not. She was about 11 years old and in mostly perfect health. George is an advocate for feeding your dog holistically. He would make her food from chicken, turkey, mixed veggies, etc. He gave her herbal supplements for her coat and her joints. She had some arthritis considering her age but overall she was perfect.

Until last night. George said she was lethargic and did not want to eat. He finally broke down and took her to the vet late last night. He said she collapsed as soon as they hit the lobby of the vet’s office. She went down fast after that. The vet eventually thought that she was bleeding internally for some reason. Her heart stopped and she got it going again but it didn’t last for long. She knew that George was with her and she slipped away, hopefully peacefully.

George is having her cremated and he will sprinkle her ashes at all the different lakes and dog parks they visited, including Valley Forge Park over in Pennsylvania not far from George’s sister’s house.

She was THE best dog. EVER. I’m not a huge dog person but I loved her. She had such personality and an aire about her that made you stop and pet her and just plain love her. She loved most humans and always enjoyed the attention. She acted like she owned all the parks that her and George went to and everyone, including the dogs, knew and loved her. The dogs would get into a frenzy when she came by.

Needless to say, George is a wreck. I hope in time he will heal and the pain will become less. He has already mentioned moving from his apartment since Lakota grew up there and the memories are staggering.

Goodbye sweet friend, we will continue to love your memory.
12 Comments

  1. Skylers Dad said,

    I am so very sorry for the loss of Lakota, she sounds like a wonderful soul!

  2. mixednut said,

    My heart goes out to you and your friend. Some animals are so in tune with you that you feel like they’re almost human.

  3. cheer34 said,

    Goodbye Lakota. George will see her again, she will be waiting for him.

  4. Chad said,

    Sorry to hear about the loss. Animals are one of a kind and cannot be replaced. The memories last forever. To a great life, great companionship, and healing.

  5. SushiBoy said,

    Poor pooch. Sounds like she was loved by everyone. Some dogs are amazing, truly mans best friend.

  6. Just Dave said,

    I cannot remember the exact quote but it goes something like-Those of us who chose to surround ourselves with lives even more brief than our own live a fragile existance indeed. It seems to apply in this case. My sympathy to you and your friend. As cheer34 says, Lakota will be waiting by the rainbow bridge.

  7. Jen said,

    now I’m sad
    =(

    at least she had
    a great life
    and a great owner
    that loved her

    R.I.P.
    Lakota

  8. Teri said,

    Thanks for the all the well wishes.

    George is still a mess but it will get better over time.

  9. Zed said,

    I kept putting off reading this because I knew I’d totally fall apart, and sure enough I have.

    What a sweet dog with a gentle spirit! So sad to hear of her loss. Please send my sympathy to George–and I’m sending a hug your way as well.

    I agree with Cheer34. “George will see her again, she will be waiting for him.”

  10. Lynda said,

    I read this post a few days ago, and with how attached I am to my dog, I just wanted to find the right words to say.

    I still haven’t found them. Lakota was so beautiful, I hope you always remember the good times.

  11. Amy said,

    Aww… Goodbye Lakota.

  12. Skittles said,

    How very sad…

Leave a Reply

