Being Neighborly

July 7, 2007 at 9:30 pm (neighbors)

My next door neighbor and I share a driveway. Once we come up the driveway our parking spots V off close to our houses. My neighbor has about 5 kids, 2 of which live at home. They are nice people.

The middle son that lives at home already parks in the driveway as does his girlfriend who I believe lives there with him (they have a child together). So those are the normal cars in the driveway usually, the one sons and the girlfriends. The youngest daughter lives there but she doesn’t have a car. The parents don’t have a car either.

Whenever the oldest son comes to visit, he deems it necessary to either block the beginning of the driveway with his car or park in the driveway on their side, regardless of how many cars are already parked there. When the youngest comes to visit, no matter how many cars are in the driveway, he’s parking there as well.

They just a had 4th of July party. One of their friends decides to park in the driveway as well because there are no parking spots within a block radius and he doesn’t want to walk. WTF? At this point, I’ve mentioned a few times:

DO NOT BLOCK THE DRIVEWAY OR MY SIDE OF THE DRIVEWAY

No one listens.

Should I be bitchy and get a sign for the beginning of the driveway and for my section of the driveway that says:

DO NOT BLOCK DRIVEWAY

There is parking on both sides of the street, even though only one car can get through at that point because the street is so narrow, there are folks who park just close enough to the driveway that you can’t get any SWING action to get into the driveway.

It’s pissing me off! I had issues at the other house with people parking in my spot, in front of my house, when that was my property. I’m not going to deal with it here.

Do you think the signs will help and will help me not to have to say anything and get pissed off in the meantime?

23 Comments

  1. 'Bubbles' said,

    Here’s how I do the neighborly thing. 1st: I say something in a ‘helpful’ way. i.e., there are usually places for parking over *insert idea here*.

    2nd: I say something like, you know, on a bad day I get way too frustrated with stuff like not being able to park. Can you do me a favor and make sure there’s a spot for the other user of the facility? Hey, one of me… bunch of you. Let’s be fair, huh?

    3rd: I write a nice note outlining the 2nd.

    4th: Gloves come off. I’ll do anything that moves me at any hour of the day / night. I’ll call who needs calling, do what needs doing, hire what needs hiring. (I don’t personally key cars… I’ll pay a 12 year old, tho.) *truth: never have, but have considered it, but was saved by circumstances…)

  2. 'Bubbles' said,

    Here’s how I do the neighborly thing. 1st: I say something in a ‘helpful’ way. i.e., there are usually places for parking over *insert idea here*.

    2nd: I say something like, you know, on a bad day I get way too frustrated with stuff like not being able to park. Can you do me a favor and make sure there’s a spot for the other user of the facility? Hey, one of me… bunch of you. Let’s be fair, huh?

    3rd: I write a nice note outlining the 2nd.

    4th: Gloves come off. I’ll do anything that moves me at any hour of the day / night. I’ll call who needs calling, do what needs doing, hire what needs hiring. (I don’t personally key cars… I’ll pay a 12 year old, tho.) *truth: never have, but have considered it, but was saved by circumstances…)

  3. 'Bubbles' said,

    Here’s how I do the neighborly thing. 1st: I say something in a ‘helpful’ way. i.e., there are usually places for parking over *insert idea here*.

    2nd: I say something like, you know, on a bad day I get way too frustrated with stuff like not being able to park. Can you do me a favor and make sure there’s a spot for the other user of the facility? Hey, one of me… bunch of you. Let’s be fair, huh?

    3rd: I write a nice note outlining the 2nd.

    4th: Gloves come off. I’ll do anything that moves me at any hour of the day / night. I’ll call who needs calling, do what needs doing, hire what needs hiring. (I don’t personally key cars… I’ll pay a 12 year old, tho.) *truth: never have, but have considered it, but was saved by circumstances…)

  4. Just Dave said,

    I would give them a chance to do the right thing by mentioning it in a friendly way. If it keeps up, do the sign. If it still keeps up, throw a pound of marijuana in the backseat and call the DEA. Cheap at the price.

  5. Dick Small said,

    I’m afraid explosives are your only hope for change.

  6. Forever Young said,

    visited your blog for the first time and love it, sounds so much like me fellow aquarian, so have a look at mine.

    what would i do about the neighbours? move!

  7. Dick Small said,

    Yeah, but, the thing is, she just bought the place.

  8. Skylers Dad said,

    Buy a forklift and demonstrate your madd forklift skills by moving one of their cars out of the way.

  9. cheer34 said,

    I think asking them to move their cars is in order. Then block the driveway with yours. If all else fails fling dog poop in their yard.

  10. Dick Small said,

    Explosives.

  11. Skylers Dad said,

    I changed my mind, Dick is right.

    Explosives…

  12. Aunt Nora said,

    Darling, you can always gouge their eyes out with your fingernails.

  13. Dick Small said,

    That’ll work too…

  14. Teri said,

    God, I love all of your ideas.

    Which one should I choose…….?

    If I hated them that would be a no brainer, all of them.

  15. Teri said,

    Aunt Nora – alas, my fingernails are short at the moment. But as soon as they grow again, I promise…

  16. Chris said,

    All my suggestions involve poop, so I’ll keep them to myself.

  17. Teri said,

    chris – bring it on, nothing is too delicate at this point.

  18. Freak Magnet said,

    I would try the sign, but I think if they’re ignorant enough to do it in the first place, they won’t pay any mind to it.

    Is there any way you can talk to the neighbor directly about it?

  19. Lynda said,

    I would tell them you have wanted to leave a few times, but one of their visitors was blocking the driveway.

    If they don’t listen, I would have them towed.

    I am thinking of towing my neighbors for blocking my driveway, and we don’t even share it! They have their own.

  20. Grant Miller said,

    xrpI think you should move. Again.

  21. Zed said,

    1. Speak to the home owner in a kind and loving way.
    2. If the problem continues, put the sign up/write your neighbor a kind and loving note.
    3. If the problem STILL continues, call the cops.
    4. If the problem STILL continues, use all of the suggestions above that involve poop.

  22. Cayman said,

    I do not share a driveway with my neighbor but when she has had parties, her family members block my driveway. One time, I couldn’t get into my house. I had to go to her to have it moved. The person took his own sweet time (about 15 minutes). So what happened next time, I called the cops. It’s not baseball – only one strike and you are out.

  23. Skittles said,

    I’ll second what Zed said 🙂

Leave a Reply

