Work Rant

August 24, 2007 at 12:46 am (work related)

First of all, the Pat concert was really good, always is. We had a good night. Hooked up with some other fan club members, which George is part of. George, however, got a massive headache and felt so nauseous we had to leave at about midnight. I drove his car back to my place, he crashed on the couch for about 2 hours and then got up and drove to his sisters. Poor guy.

Second of all, work is a becoming a big pain in my arse!

I’m an administrative assistant. I support about 20 some people at work, not all of these people are super busy, so I’m not swamped all the time. It seems that every job that I’ve been at starts out good but ends badly, for me anyway. I start out with good supervisors, the people I support are not my supervisors. After a time things start going down hill. Here’s the scenario:

When I first started at my current job, my supervisor was descent, can’t complain. She got moved to another position and another stepped in. She was good, very positive and fair. She got promoted and they hired someone from outside to be in charge of all the admins in our office. Needless to say, I don’t trust her and she has a habit of siding with the people we support instead of being fair and impartial. I’m not the only one who feels this way, just one of many in the growing mutiny that might hit soon. If she’s OUR supervisor, doesn’t she work for us? If alot of folks are having problems with their petty, BS bosses, then all of us can’t be wrong. Some of these folks are so petty. A couple of my people went behind my back and complained to the head of the department that I work for and he in turn went to my supervisor. Hello? Are you that two faced and immature that you can’t come to me with a problem? You can come to me for everything else, why not to deal with a problem? I have NO time for the bullshit. This is the kind of stuff that makes me leave a job. No matter what I do, it’s not right. I always mention to some of the other admins that I would love to do a “sick out” for one day and see what they think then. It’s even harder with the new Oracle financial system that’s in place now. No one can get deep into the system except the admins. We are the ones looking at the financials, doing billing, etc. and it’s alot of work at the moment and very stressful. But they don’t even see that, they just keep complaining that I want to leave at 5:00 p.m. and when they come out of their office at 4:55 with a letter or presentation that needs to be printed and bound and have 10 copies go to the client, that I should stay and not give any back talk. I should not have a life and I should drop everything to accommodate them.

They’ve got the wrong girl. I’m very accommodating but I know the one or two people who do this kind of crap on a fairly regular basis.

The next job that I have will be in computer graphics so I have to wait until my “ducks are in a row” first. But it’s making me crazy in the process.

10 Comments

  1. "that girl" said,

    catty ass bitches!!! all of us!!! i hate working for women … i would so much rather work for a guy.

  2. Teri said,

    but the two faced, immature people complaining are the men and my supervisor is a woman and most of the admins are women.

  3. Chris said,

    Thankfully, I’ve never worked somewhere that expected overtime at the last minute. I don’t think I could tolerate that.

    Unity with the others seems like your biggest strength.

  4. Skylers Dad said,

    I like your idea of a sick-out. That should provide the much needed wake up call for those idiots!

  5. Just Dave said,

    There was a movie out a little while back called “A Day Without a Mexican” where all the Mexicans disappeared and people found out how difficult it was to get along without them. I think people don’t realize how much AAs do. For years, they have always been the low folks on the totem pole, mentally abused and sexually harassed. I hope that you all rise up against your oppressors and get things changed. However, I also hope I don’t read about ii in the newspaper (“Teri and associates hold 22 hostage in office standoff”).

  6. Dick Small said,

    George…. man, what a wuss.

  7. Sans Pantaloons said,

    Stress is not good.
    I am Teri, hear me roar
    In numbers too big to ignore
    And I know too much to go back an’ pretend
    ‘Cause I’ve heard it all before
    And I’ve been down there on the floor
    No one’s ever gonna keep me down again

  8. Nobody™ said,

    Do you work for the same dipshits as me??

  9. Teri said,

    Nobody, I obviously do.

  10. Cayman said,

    I left my role in mgmt because I couldn’t deal with the a-holes they were hiring into the supervisor role. All my peers were great in the beginning but many got burned out. Then they started hiring yes men & women or people who just wanted to be liked. Sups forget (or sometimes don’t ever realize) that they work for their team, not the other way around. I was lucky, I got a promotion out. I was told by people on my team that I was the only good supervisor they had; I was the only one who looked out for them first. How sad is that? Plus, I hate to say it since I am one but the women I’ve worked with have always been worse than the men. Life is too short to be miserable. There are too many companies looking for good, experienced people.

    **Also, too many people are hung up on titles. AAs are always overlooked. I took my 4 AAs to lunch one day and they were shocked. It was just a small thank you on a random Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

