King Tut

September 1, 2007 at 2:21 pm (Uncategorized)

For those of you who read this blog, you know that I have a secret fetish for archaeology. Yesterday I headed over to the King Tut exhibit at the Franklin Institute. They have some artifacts that were buried with the boy King and some other artifacts that were possessions of his relatives. It was a fascinating exhibit, especially the items that were found in his tomb. You would think that he was the best King, EVER, to rule Egypt. The items that they made 3500 years ago were magnificent. Most of the items were made from wood with a gold leaf overlay. And the intricacy with which these items were made is unbelievable. If you’re in the Philadelphia area, or if this exhibit hits your town, you should go. I don’t think this exhibit would be interesting to kids but the adults would like it.

For some background information, Howard Carter, a Londoner, found the tomb back in 1922 and they say it was the best find, EVER. His tomb was not robbed by grave robbers because it was hidden so well. Therefore, all of the items were still there and intact, for the most part.

12 Comments

  1. metalmom said,

    I saw parts of this exhibit as a kid. I’d love to see it again as an adult. Hubs has NO INTEREST whatsoever.(He can see it all on the history channel)

    PS are you on facebook? You can email me!

  2. cheer34 said,

    I hope this is not the exhibit that was in Chicago 2 years ago. I went to that one and was very disappointed. The way the exhibit was advertised I was expecting to see the mummy itself. The tour took only 45 minutes and we saw a mask, a chair, mini artifacts and not much more. Later at the end of the exhibit there was a board printed with an explaination why the mummy was not included. The mummy was damaged during a tour in the 70″s and would never be included in a tour again.

  3. N said,

    Teri~
    I’m glad you liked it. I am going to see this exhibit in a couple of weeks with a friend who is coming out of town. I don’t think I would have ever found any interest to go myself, but now you have me a bit excited!
    ~N

  4. Teri said,

    There were a bit of mishaps back in the 70’s and they vowed to never do a tour again but were talked into it recently with all the new discoveries, etc. and the fact that they wanted people to see the history of Egypt. I think they kept very important pieces off the tour because if they are destroyed or broken they would probably want to commit suicide just thinking about it.

    Tut’s mummy was NOT included in this tour but alot of the artifacts from his tomb were. Maybe that’s why they added the coffin and other artifacts from his family’s graves? To show not only his, but his ancestors and the different pieces from their time.

  5. Teri said,

    PS. It did only take about an hour, more if you were doing the “cassette” tour where you listened to this person talk about each item. The placed was packed!

  6. Dick Small said,

    I had no idea your fetish was archaeology. I thought it was gerbils.

  7. Grant Miller said,

    Did you walk like an Egyptian?

  8. Teri said,

    Dick – sshhhhh, no one is supposed to know….

    Grant – yes and it was liberating.

  9. "that girl" said,

    no fair … i wanna show my history geek side and go see king tut!!

  10. mixednut said,

    He coulda won a Grammy…

  11. coffeypot said,

    Since he was a minor king he wouldn’t have had as much as some of the other major kings. Can you immagine what was in those graves that were robbed? And what happened to the stuff that was stolen? Melted and used for teeth crowns? Where did it all go?

  12. Teri said,

    coffypot, you’re probably right. I never thought about it until you mentioned it and then I think back on the artifacts that he had in his tomb. Unbelievable, is all I can say. It makes me sad to think what the robbers did with the loot.

Leave a Reply

