Friday Field Trip #1

September 14, 2007 at 1:06 am (Uncategorized)

Sushiboy asked a few of us if we wanted to participate in the Friday Field Trip webring and I happily accepted. Maybe this will broaden my horizons a little more and make my list a little longer of the places I want to visit. I present to you my first Field Trip, enjoy!

My first trip would be to travel the coast of California. There are some amazing towns along Route 1 and Route 101, which stretches from Southern California to Washington. I would start from Southern California so the water is on the drivers side of the car. My phobias would kick in big time if I started North and worked my way South because the cliffs would be a guardrail away from disaster.

I would love to hit Laguna Beach, Carmel, Big Sur and all the quaint towns in between. The Pacific Coast is one of the most beautiful coastlines. The East Coast does not compare at all. The Cliffs and waves of the Pacific make it a spectacular viewing vacation.

If anyone has taken some version of this trip, I would love to hear which towns you enjoyed more than others.

21 Comments

  1. Dick Small said,

    I wasn’t invited. Damn.
    Well, that’s okay. I’ve been snubbed before.

  2. Dick Small said,

    … and probably will be again, someday.

  3. Skylers Dad said,

    I would just like to take a vacation some day.

  4. Sunshine said,

    I love me some Santa Barbara.

    I would also add Coronado Island and San Fran to fav California coastal spots with pretty vistas.

  5. Just Dave said,

    Samta Cruz and Monterey are both amazing towns. Make sure to visit the aquarium in Monterey and take the drive down 10 Mile Road around the Pebble Beach area. On your way up, stop at the Hearst San Simeon State Monument. This maginificent estate is the American equivalent of the Taj Mahal as it was built for the love of a woman, Marion Davies. Further south, Santa Barbara and San Luis Obispo are worth a stop. Forget LA unless you like air pollution and concrete.

  6. Sushiboy said,

    I’ve done the north end of Highway 101 multiple times. Its a beautiful ride. I used to live in the Portland area and my family would head west to Tilamook and take the 101 south to San Fransisco from there. The Oregon/Northern Cali coast is really nice. But there may be a few too many cliffs for your taste. The Redwoods is something that everyone should see. Amazaing! I’m not as familiar with the SoCal coast.

  7. Sushiboy said,

    Amazaing another new word from my fingers this week. Blech.

  8. Zed said,

    If you go Teri, please bring me back a souvenir–preferably a blond surfer dude.

    I’ve been on this trip on Route 1 quite a few years ago (15?). Monterey was beautiful, as was the Lone Cypress, and Big Sur. I sort of remember Carmel-by-the-Sea as being artsy. Lots of sections of Route 1 are a bit scarey due to the winding roads and the potential big drop off of the cliffs to the ocean. Great trip though!

  9. mixednut said,

    Excellent choice!
    The drive gets better the further north you travel.
    If you get the chance to get here, ya gotta give me a holla (Hi Zed).
    You’ll be in my backyard for cripe’s sake.

  10. "that girl" said,

    but if you drive north with the cliffs on the drivers side … what about getting back … ???

    i want to go san fran just for the food alone!!!

  11. Teri said,

    Tina – fly into the southern most point in California, drive up the coast, drop off the car in the most northern point and fly home from there. voila!

  12. Teri said,

    Thanks for all the suggestions, I’m making my list.

    now, who should I take with me……..hmmmmmmmmmm.

  13. Teri said,

    Zed, one blonde surfer dude coming right up! does he have to have brains?

  14. Mel said,

    my friend did this trip a few months ago but it was kinda as it was a combo business trip. She loved it!! I would too. If you go get plenty of pics for me ok??

  15. Skylers Dad said,

    [raising hand and waving]

    Take me! Take Me!!!

  16. metalmom said,

    Teri, if you’re looking for a travel buddy, Pick me! I never leave the east coast 😦

  17. Grant Miller said,

    I did when I was 10 or so. It was kind of cool. Huge waves coming across the rocky coast is what I remember. My wife used to live in Monterey.

  18. Teri said,

    Skylers dad and metalmom, you can both come but I do NOT want to hear the following phrases:

    1. she/he’s touching me
    2. are we there yet?
    3. I’m bored

  19. Skittles said,

    Actually the summer of ’69 (and young) I was out that way with my family.. and went up the Pacific Coast Highway. From what I remember it was beautiful!

  20. Dick Small said,

    I’ve been to Laguna. A dozen times. And you’ve never been once…
    So, let me get this straight:
    Me – 12
    You – 0

    Wow, you’re really missing out. I hope it’s not too late. You’re not getting any younger, you know.

  21. Teri said,

    Dick, you really know how to make a girl feel good. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

