Friday Field Trip

September 28, 2007 at 11:48 pm (Uncategorized)

Hi boys and girls, we’re going on a field trip to see some murals in the great city of Philadelphia. Do you have your walking shoes? Do you have water? Okay, let’s begin.

Here’s a bit of history on the Mural Program:

The Philadelphia Mural Arts Program (MAP) started in 1984 as a component of the Anti-Graffiti Network (PAGN), a city-wide initiative to eradicate destructive graffiti and address neighborhood blight. As part of this effort, PAGN hired mural artist Jane Golden to reach out to graffiti writers and to redirect their energies to mural-making. Mural-making not only helped these young men and women develop their artistic skills, but also empowered them to beautify their neighborhoods. In 1996, the City of Philadelphia recognized MAP as a program distinct from the Anti-Graffiti Network. At the same time, MAP established a non profit organization, The Philadelphia Mural Arts Advocates. The Advocates have a broad mission of youth development and neighborhood revitalization through the arts.

The Dolphin mural is on the side of a building facing Route 76, right across from 30th Street Station (Amtrak).

Some of the other murals are posted on the Time site. Please visit and scroll through the pictures.

The bottom mural is one of my favorites and I love walking or driving through the city and suddenly coming upon one of these gems. You want to have your camera with you all the time to capture the beauty of the artistry. There are some murals painted on underpasses, the sides of buildings on the sides of tanks, etc. There is one mural that I pass each morning on the train, on the underpass of I-95, of bicyclists. There is an American flag painted on the side of a building on the Delaware River that I also pass each morning. This was put there right after September 11, 2001 and has remained. I love looking at the flag going to and from work every day. They painted it to look like it was draped from atop the building.

There are trolley tours of the murals on Wednesdays and Saturdays, from April to October. Each Saturday they tour different parts of the city because all the murals are so spread out.


There is also a book, “Philadelphia Murals and the stories they tell“. There happens to be another volume of this book also, “More Philadelphia Murals and the Stories They Tell“. I have the first book and it’s a good coffee table book. It tells about the artists and the murals they created.

I hope you have enjoyed the walk. Please let me know if you want me to take more pictures of other murals and I will do so. Also, if you live in the Philly area and would like to take one of the tours with me, please let me know. I wonder if they still do them through the month of October?

11 Comments

  1. Sushiboy said,

    Wow Teri, awesome post. I loved the murals they were really pretty, and I like idea behind PAGN.

  2. Superwoman said,

    What beautiful works of art and what a great idea to put the artistic talents of the kids to good us. Thanks!

  3. Skittles said,

    Oh my gosh!!!! Those are breathtaking!

  4. coffeypot said,

    I’ve driven through Philly a couple of times, but I miss these beautiful sites, to my disappointment. I would like to see more, please.

  5. Skylers Dad said,

    That was great, thanks for having us along!

  6. Just Dave said,

    Very nice tour, Teri. Thanks for sharing.

  7. Sans Pantaloons said,

    The murals are brilliant and inspiring. Thank you for posting this Teri!

  8. Lori said,

    Great post Teri! I love the murals too. I think my favorite is the one that can be seen just after the Girard Ave exit of the Expressway by the Zoo. Love it!

  9. Mel said,

    I love the murals! Thanks for having us along 🙂 LOL I dont get out much!

  10. Grant Miller said,

    I’d like to run up the Rocky stairs, please.

  11. Angry said,

    Wow Teri, it seems I timed my visit perfectly.

Leave a Reply

