Field Trip Friday

October 12, 2007 at 11:13 pm (Uncategorized)

Come take a walk with me. This is Newton Creek, one of my most favorite places to walk. It is about 1/2 mile from my house, bordering on my town and the two towns next to me. It’s off a major road but with all the green, the lake, the ducks and the people fishing, it’s a very tranquil spot to walk, run, play and bicycle. This is where I go when I want to be outside, clear my head, listen to music or just listen to my surroundings. Enjoy! Click on the photos to enlarge

The Creek is divided into three separate sections. This section is closest to the main road and is about a mile from beginning to end. I believe each of the sections are the same, a mile.


You can see some of the high rise apartments off the main road as you start walking around. There is also a McDonalds and Wendy’s over there.



A view from about 3/4ths around the first section of the Creek. There are houses on the right side of the Creek.

This is what you see all the time, Ducks and Geese. They are always there, they LOVE this place as much as I do.


These are a pair of steps in the second section of the Creek. They lead up to one of the neighborhood streets. Can you imagine living in that house right there and being able to go walk, run, etc. whenever you want, you just step right outside your door?

This is the second pair of step a few yards down from the first. I think this is the next street over from the first.

This is the playground at the second section of the Creek.


It’s been sad seeing the foliage change, as well. Fall is definitely coming and it’s sad to see the spring and summer fade away. You see different flowers bloom, different plants spring open and different trees bloom at differents times of the seasons. I also know that pretty soon I won’t be able to walk there after work. By the time I would get there, especially after we change the clocks, it will be dark. But, until that time, I try to get out there as much as I can.

10 Comments

  1. Sans Pantaloons said,

    It looks lovely and peaceful, or at least well away from the hustle and bustle. This is the type of walk I’m very fond of myself. Thank you for allowing me to share such a pleasant walk Teri.

  2. metalmom said,

    Love the view!!

    You are lucky to have such a scenic place to walk!I’d love to borrow Babygirl’s camera one day while I walk. She’s afraid I’ll break it. 😦 Maybe I’ll get one for Christmas!

  3. Skylers Dad said,

    That is quite nice! I think I will take the camera along next doggie walk and take you on a field trip.

  4. coffeypot said,

    Beautiful place. The only place to walk around here is at the softball park. There is a trail going around the four field complex that is a quarter of a mile long. If you like softball it’s a nice walk. Otherwise, boaring. I also loved reading about the history of you area. I am a history buff and enjoy reading about the origians of different places. I can’t wait for the invention of the time machine so that I can go back and see history as it is being made – being invisible so that I can go into womens dressing areas at the mall.

  5. N said,

    this looks very nice, a lot like the stretch of fairmount park that i used to love to walk. it is the only thing i truely miss of my old place in the city…

  6. Mr. Fabulous said,

    Wow…that’s a nice walk. Very pretty!

  7. Mel said,

    I love that spot too! Thanks for the field trip! I am really loving these!

  8. Amy said,

    Beautiful! Enjoy it for as long as you can 🙂

    I gotta start doing the Friday Field Trip…

  9. Lori said,

    Beautiful! You’re lucky to have that so close to your house.

  10. Sushiboy said,

    Another great post. Ya know Teri, I think your better at this FFT thing than I am. Sorry it took me so long to see it. Life has been C-R-A-Z-Y. I like feeding ducks.

Leave a Reply

