Changing of the seasons

November 18, 2007 at 6:47 pm (Uncategorized)

Does anyone else, who lives in a state that has seasonal changes, have problems with the fall and winter and far as the “dulldrums” go? Each year seems to get worse for me. I LOVE the spring and summer and love to be outside all the time. When the fall starts and the weather starts changing I cannot make myself leave the house and I feel like a hermit. I also notice that I definitely need the lights on in the house if it’s cloudy and miserable outside. This helps my mood and any depression that might set in, tremendously. This past weekend has been miserable. Not even raining alot but nothing but dark and cloudy both Saturday and Sunday. I need some sunshine, bad!

14 Comments

  1. "that girl" said,

    hhhmmm …. maybe you should move to the desert and be with your family!!!! where it’s sunny all the time!!

  2. Sans Pantaloons said,

    Teri, you should have stuck your thumb out and hitched a lift with Dick Small to Florida.
    Me, myself and most of Scotland are affected by SAD at this time of year. Soon we will have only four odd hours of real daylight, I assume it’s similar for your part of the world. This is why Scotland has a whisky industry – to drown our sorrows.

  3. Nobody™ said,

    Winter sucks.

  4. Dick Small said,

    Teri. Always complaining about something…

  5. Jen said,

    January – February – March
    make me suicidal..

  6. SkylersDad said,

    We have sun year round here, come join us in over 300 bright sunny days a year!

    I used to work with a guy that was born in the northern part of Alaska. He said that there is an entire industry up there built around lighting that helps the nasty moods due to constant darkness.

  7. coffeypot said,

    Each season has its on beauty. I love the fall. The colors, the leaves, the critters on the ground looking for food under the leaves, and the cool, crisp air. I recommend you go outside and walk around. The cool air is good for you and your moods. Honest, it is.

  8. coffeypot said,

    And I don’t think I would want to live in the desert where it’s sunny all the time. Makes it hard to sleep at night with all that brightness.

  9. Sushiboy said,

    I feel the blahs in February, cold, grey, more cold, more grey, throw in a little inversion (aka smog) yuck.

  10. Catherinette Singleton said,

    Yup, my mom does. She has to use one of those sun lamps, and it makes a HUGE difference.

  11. mixednut said,

    Listen to your sister!

  12. The Guv'ner said,

    I have this sort of “mood conundrum”. In summer I’m all smiles. I love summer. Blue skies, sunshine, breezes coming in from the ocean. Sunshine just brightens the mood.

    Now Fall is COLD but sunny. I also likey.

    Winter is gray and if you have balls they will freeze right off. It’s cold, damp, depressing, windy, dark and only nice at all if you’re home on the couch with a cute man, a blanket and a pitcher of margaritas. And chips.

    Winter does NOT enhance the mood. I grew up in a wintery country and I’m over it. Truly.

  13. The Guv'ner said,

    I have this sort of “mood conundrum”. In summer I’m all smiles. I love summer. Blue skies, sunshine, breezes coming in from the ocean. Sunshine just brightens the mood.

    Now Fall is COLD but sunny. I also likey.

    Winter is gray and if you have balls they will freeze right off. It’s cold, damp, depressing, windy, dark and only nice at all if you’re home on the couch with a cute man, a blanket and a pitcher of margaritas. And chips.

    Winter does NOT enhance the mood. I grew up in a wintery country and I’m over it. Truly.

  14. The Guv'ner said,

    I have this sort of “mood conundrum”. In summer I’m all smiles. I love summer. Blue skies, sunshine, breezes coming in from the ocean. Sunshine just brightens the mood.

    Now Fall is COLD but sunny. I also likey.

    Winter is gray and if you have balls they will freeze right off. It’s cold, damp, depressing, windy, dark and only nice at all if you’re home on the couch with a cute man, a blanket and a pitcher of margaritas. And chips.

    Winter does NOT enhance the mood. I grew up in a wintery country and I’m over it. Truly.

Leave a Reply

