Confession

January 13, 2008 at 7:22 pm (tv shows)

I’m sure some of you won’t be surprised but I’m a dork. Specifically, there are tv shows out there that I watch that make me feel like I should be about 90 years old because it just seems like a show that my mother or grandparent would watch.

The show? CBS News Sunday Morning. I know, make fun of me now………I’ll wait……..

This show is on at 9:00 a.m. on Sunday mornings and is an hour and a half long. I look forward to watching this show on Sunday’s. Not to the point of hopping out of bed at exactly 9:00 a.m. and there are even some mornings where I just don’t feel like watching it. But I really enjoy it.

They cover everything from politics, art, authors, really weird shit, like how they have a pumpkin throwing contest every Halloween in this one little town that has a population of 100 people…….The show runs the gamut of interesting stories.

Like this morning one story was about Napoleon and how he thought that having really nice, materialistic things made you look and feel important. And if you wanted to be an emperor, this was very important.

Another story was about this artist in England who puts art on buildings. The police believe it to be graffiti and they are trying to wipe out graffiti. They have never been able to catch this guy doing it but it always shows up on some building. It reminded me of the murals here in Philadelphia. Why don’t they have the same program? It would cut down on graffiti and make buildings really stand out with the beauty of the art. The artist’s name is Banksy.

There you have it, my confession.

20 Comments

  1. Mel said,

    Thats not dorky at all, come on I want a better confession than that LOL

  2. Nobody™ said,

    Banksy! I was going to ask if it was him, and then you answered my question. I heard of him on Julian Beever’s TV show, Concrete Canvas, that I just watched about an hour ago.

    Last week’s episode Beever was in Philly, and explored some of the murals there. This week was London, he drew Big Ben and explored the graffiti art in the city.

  3. Nobody™ said,

    I don’t watch CBS Sunday Morning on a regular basis, but I do tune in on occasion. There are some interesting stories on it.

  4. Teri said,

    Mel – I know, it’s lame but that’s the best I could come up with at the moment.

  5. sister golden hair said,

    What’s wrong with watching CBS morning news???
    My personal favorite is on TNN: “Scrapbooking Made Easy”. Girl, I’ll tell ya, before I got into scrapbooking I was afraid to try it because it seemed so hard. Well, thanks to TNN, I’m now a scrapbooking NUT!!

  6. Teri said,

    Nobody – it’s a small world. I’ll have to see if they have Concrete Canvas on Direct TV. I would like to see shows on these two, I love art like this.

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who watches this show. I really enjoy it I think my perception is a little off. Why should I feel silly about it?

  7. Teri said,

    Sister – you should call my mother, she’s a scrapbooking geek as well. she takes classes and everything. she’s even gotten my niece and nephew into it on their summer breaks.

  8. The Guv'ner said,

    I will now have to check this show out although that means getting up on a Sunday morning instead of lolling around in bed till noon. DAMN! Oh..I could DVR it though.

    I like to watch “What Not to Wear” when I’m home alone which is WAY lamer than your lame. I like to watch the transformations then snort and say things to myself like “a structured jacket, you don’t say!”

    LAME.

  9. The Guv'ner said,

    I will now have to check this show out although that means getting up on a Sunday morning instead of lolling around in bed till noon. DAMN! Oh..I could DVR it though.

    I like to watch “What Not to Wear” when I’m home alone which is WAY lamer than your lame. I like to watch the transformations then snort and say things to myself like “a structured jacket, you don’t say!”

    LAME.

  10. The Guv'ner said,

    I will now have to check this show out although that means getting up on a Sunday morning instead of lolling around in bed till noon. DAMN! Oh..I could DVR it though.

    I like to watch “What Not to Wear” when I’m home alone which is WAY lamer than your lame. I like to watch the transformations then snort and say things to myself like “a structured jacket, you don’t say!”

    LAME.

  11. david mcmahon said,

    Did you see Banksy’s artwork in the West Bank? VERY interesting!

  12. Nobody™ said,

    Concrete Canvas is on VOOM Gallery HD, which is only available on Dish Network.

  13. Teri said,

    Guv, I like this show as well. I’ve learned alot of good stuff.

    David, thanks for stopping by. I have not seen this, I will search the web, maybe I can find something.

    Nobody, DAMN! typical, all the really cool stuff is another dish network.

  14. metalmom said,

    BWAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!

    Wait…what am I laughing at? I watch it too! Lean in and I’ll tell you a secret…closer…I watch “America’s Next Top Model” …If you tell, I will have to cut you!

  15. Annie said,

    I don’t think that’s dorky. I liked the links. Banksy is very talented, a little miss directed maybe, but none the less-talented!

  16. Lori said,

    That’s not too dorky, Teri. At least it’s current events, newsy type of stuff.

    My confession: I friggin LOVE America’s Funniest Home Videos.

    The shame!!!!

  17. Dick Small said,

    I used to love the $1.98 Beauty Show. It’s a crime against nature that they cancelled it.

  18. Teri said,

    Lori, I like that show as well. I laugh my ass off at people.

    Dick, sorry, never saw it.

    Metalmom, I’ll never tell. I promise.

    It’s nice to know that some of you watch this show, I’m in good company and less geeky now. Right?

  19. Amy said,

    I freaking LOVE that show!

    I love the opening song, and all the “sun” art. I remember it from when I spent the night at my grandparents as a little girl. I love to have a cup of coffee and thumb through the paper and watch this show.

    You are not alone, Teri.

  20. Teri said,

    Oh bless you, Amy.

    I don’t feel like a freak anymore. See what happens when you confess? You’re never alone and other people do the same thing.

Leave a Reply

