Parking around here is a bitch!

January 24, 2008 at 7:44 pm (Philly stuff, tv shows)

Well, another reality show has hit the airwaves. Have any of you seen the commercials for “Parking Wars” on the A&E Channel? Well guess what? This is about the Parking Authority in Philadelphia. The city where my job resides.

I caught this show this past weekend while channel surfing and I had to stop and watch. I was like a deer in headlights, really! Now, I’ve heard some stories about parking in Philly and about the Parking Authority so I was aware. Let me just say this. There are some stupid ass people in Philly.

Now, when you park illegally, forget that you are parked illegally and eventually get towed, you have to go pick up your car at the impound lot. They request a valid drivers license, proof of insurance and a current registration. Considering Philadelphia has one of the highest car insurance rates, in close competition to some Jersey counties, ALOT of folks do NOT have insurance. ALOT of people do NOT want anyone to know this fact but yet they don’t know how to park and not have their cars towed. There were some good fights going on at the impound lot. Now, I don’t understand why they need proof of insurance for you to pick up your car but this is one of the documents they request to get your car out of the impound lot. Some folks just don’t understand this concept and don’t have the documents on them or in their car.

Another gentleman was arguing with a meter maid, who gave him a ticket because he was parked on a major road, after 4:00 p.m. when rush hour traffic starts and there were about 5 signs in the area that stated “no parking between 4:00 p.m. and 6:00 p.m. YOUR CAR WILL BE TOWED”.

He kept telling the lady that the sign near his car was upside down and he shouldn’t have to adhere to the rules. He also stated that he fed the meter and if the meter took his money and allowed him to park after 4:00 p.m., then that was okay. OH MY GOD, I was rolling on the floor with this guy and he had another passenger with him and they were both arguing with the lady about the sign being upside down and they shouldn’t have to adhere to the rules.

See, what assholes. This was worth the watching for the laughing I got out of it. Plus since I’m from the Philly area I could relate to all the dumbasses.

15 Comments

  1. cheer34 said,

    I have seen the show a couple of times. all the episodes are very funny. I do not understand the way some people think, and how they come up with the reasons for not following the rules. It is funny

  2. Jen said,

    I love that show
    I was gonna do a post
    about it
    You beat me to it

  3. Sushiboy said,

    I ride the bus. I do not park, and I’m glad because it would be hellish at the college I attend. Your post made me glad that is how I commute.

  4. Special K said,

    I saw the advertisements but missed it. Now I wish I’d watched it.
    Stupid knows no borders…

  5. Teri said,

    Jen – do a post!

    Sushi – I LOVE public transportation.

    Cheer – I don’t understand people, either.

    Special K – they’ll be reruns.

  6. fudgelady said,

    Wow. So if you’re dumb enough in Philly, you get your own TV show.

    Makes me wonder why I went to college…

    (P.S.: Two of your links in the first graf lead to a DNA project. Not that I object to that! 🙂 )

  7. Dick Small said,

    Well, Jen could do a post, but then it would be copying.

  8. Cayman said,

    Never saw the show but I know Philly since I live just outside it. Sounds like a must-see!

    *Insurance forms are required because legally you are not allowed to drive a car without insurance.

  9. Teri said,

    Fudgelady – thanks, I fixed the links. that was weird as I was doing some genealogy stuff but after I posted.

    Cayman – I thought that was the case but wasn’t sure. One guy even asked “what are you, the cops? why do you need to see my insurance card?”

  10. metalmom said,

    I have never heard of this show, I’ll have to look out for it! My relatives are probably on it! LOL

    Oh did you say A&E? Never mind. That’s too cultured for me!

  11. Grant Miller said,

    Wait? There’s a reality TV show on for parking? What’s next? A show about sitting on the couch?

  12. N said,

    Why didn’t we think of this show concept first?

    I mean, it doesn’t take a genius to discover that putting a bunch of angry, stupid Philadelphians in front of a camera would make for entertaining TV.

    I remember seeing the previews for this but haven’t watched it yet. I was afraid it would feed the “Philadelphian” stereotype even more for the rest of the country, and I couldn’t bear to watch.

  13. SkylersDad said,

    I predict gunfire when the ratings drop.

  14. Scarlet said,

    Grant said “What’s next? A show about sitting on the couch?”.

    They did that here last year but called it Big Brother 7. Towards the end of the series the hostess in interviews apologised and admitted the producers played it too safe in selecting “contestants”.

    Teri – Thanks for the post, it confirms that there are idiots worldwide. (who sound suspiciously like my father!!)

  15. Lori said,

    Yo…I’ve tagged you in my latest post for a meme from Rob (Angry Buttons). Come check it out.

Leave a Reply

