There she blows……

February 27, 2008 at 8:48 pm (work related)

One of the consultants that I work for had a meltdown this morning. Not long after I walked in the door this is the conversation:

Him: “Did you get another conference room for this meeting this morning since we won’t all fit”?

Me: “No, you didn’t ask me to and we’ve been back and forth on this room for awhile now changing times and such. I also asked a few times if we should get a bigger conference room on another floor”

Him: Storms away, “fine, I’ll do it myself.”

Me: Stunned and blinking after him

Me: Call our conference center and get another room and tell him I got another room that was luckily available but hadn’t been before this time.

As I go up to the other floor to see how the layout is and come back to my floor, he sees me and apologizes.

Him: “I thought about getting another room”
Me: (In my head) well, dumbass, why didn’t you verbalize it?

Now this guy is extremely nice. He’s a jokester, gets along with everyone and is just genuinely a nice guy. When his temper flares it’s like watching the exorcist blow. One minute he’s great and the next minute his head is spinning and practically flying off his shoulders.

I asked him a number of times if I should get a bigger room on another floor and he said “NO”. Maybe it was just the lack of communication and him thinking not that many people will show up but WOW, what a site.

I’ve seen this temper a few times in the past month but this is the first time it was directed at me.

17 Comments

  1. Special K said,

    Wow. does he have curly black hair and hazel eyes? About 5′ 9″ ?
    Sounds just like my former co-worker.

  2. Sunshine said,

    There’s a few good things about this story.
    A) you realize that even jokester types can have dumbass, irrational outbursts…and you’re very understanding about it

    B) you realize that, even though directed at you, you didn’t warrant the behavior…some people would take very personally, you clearly have a lot of self-confidence to not let it bother you

    C) you’re a cool customer, you’d be a great team player for any company!

  3. Mel said,

    I have a co worker thats just crazy and does the same thing.

    Fun, isn’t it?

  4. The Guv'ner said,

    Yup, same here. This is a boss’s forte – THINKING about something and thinking that constitutes SAYING it out loud. They should hire mediums to work for them then they might get things DONE! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. The Guv'ner said,

    Yup, same here. This is a boss’s forte – THINKING about something and thinking that constitutes SAYING it out loud. They should hire mediums to work for them then they might get things DONE! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. The Guv'ner said,

    Yup, same here. This is a boss’s forte – THINKING about something and thinking that constitutes SAYING it out loud. They should hire mediums to work for them then they might get things DONE! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Just Dave said,

    I don’t think the anger was directed at you, I think you were just in the way. It is hard to determine why someone who is generally even-tempered suddenly goes postal but you can bet that there were factors totally unrelated to the meeting at play. You did well to play it cool and wait for the fit to pass.

  8. Lori said,

    Hmmm. Good job on playing it cool and not taking it too personally.

    This is a very, very insane time of year for people in our industry. Maybe that’s the reason he blew up?

    Or, maybe he’s bipolar. I’m not joking. I used to work with someone who was a not-consistently-medicated bipolar, and….eeek.

  9. Dick Small said,

    I’m not surprised, really. If I worked in a confined environment with you day after day after day after day after day after day after day after day after day after day after day after day after day after day after day after day after day after day after day after day after day, I’d probably blow up at you also. You just strike me of having that “way” about you…

  10. Dick Small said,

    … and no, Dave. I’m pretty sure it was just Teri.

  11. Dick Small said,

    … btw, did I ever mention the fact that I once went to the theater to watch a movie titled “There She Blows”??? I had my own booth and everything.

  12. Sans Pantaloons said,

    Stress can be an evil monkey on your back.

  13. coffeypot said,

    Goddammit, dick small, I almost choked to death on your last comment. I had just put a handful of peanuts in my mouth and had just started to chew them. You can’t get a good spew take with peanuts. I’m still trying to cough them back up from inside my lungs. I didnโ€™t see you there. You must have had the door closed.

  14. "that girl" said,

    i love it when people expect you to read their fucking minds!!

  15. Dick Small said,

    Coffey, didn’t see you. It was dark, though. Maybe that’s why….
    (^:

  16. Mr. Fabulous said,

    Say no more. I’m on it. He won’t live to see the weekend.

  17. Grant Miller said,

    I hope his head didn’t spin and puke all over the place.

Leave a Reply

