I’m changing direction…

April 4, 2008 at 3:19 pm (guest bloggers)

I believe that my twisted sense of humor is frightening people away, so I am going to post something different. This is a story I have kept for awhile now, because I think it is so beautiful and speaks to the power of love.

================================================

The Promise
By Thomas F. Crum

One evening I found myself at a conference in Washington, D.C. And as fate would have it, Bucky Fuller happened to be making a presentation that evening at another conference in the very same hotel. I got to the ballroom in time to hear the end of Bucky’s lecture. I was in awe of this little man in his eighties, with his clear mind, deep wisdom and boundless energy. At the end of the talk, we walked together through the underground parking lot to his airport limousine.

“I’ve got to go to New York City tonight for another presentation,” he said, looking at me with an anxiousness that I had rarely seen in Bucky.

“You know, Annie’s not doing well. I’m very concerned about her.”

We hugged.

Bucky Fuller had once confided to me that he had promised his wife Annie to die before she did, so that he could be there to welcome her when it was her turn. I took the comment as a hope, not a commitment. Which shows how greatly I underestimated Buckminster Fuller.

Shortly after Bucky’s presentation in New York, he learned that Annie had lapsed into a coma in a hospital in Los Angeles. Doctors felt that there was a good chance she would not regain consciousness. Bucky took the first flight he could get. Upon arriving in Los Angeles, he went immediately to Annie’s bedside. Sitting beside her, he closed his eyes.

And quietly died.

The power to choose life fully was something that Bucky exemplified. So much so that he had the power to choose death when it was time, peacefully, with arms wide open to the universe that he served. It was simply another courageous step forward.

Hours later, Annie peacefully joined him in death. He had kept his promise. He was waiting for her.

______________________________

Reprinted by permission of Thomas F. Crum (c) 1998, from Chicken Soup for the Couple’s Soul by Jack Canfield, Mark Victor Hansen, Mark & Chrissy Donnelly and Barbara De Angelis, Ph.D.

3 Comments

  1. Cayman said,

    Wow. That is amazing. Thank you for sharing.

    *I love your twisted sense of humor so don’t change completely!

  2. Dick Small said,

    Don’t be stupid, Dad! You’ve got a great sense of humor, you nutjob!!!

  3. Special K said,

    Beautiful story.

    Now bring back creepy Uncle Earnie.

Leave a Reply

