Vertigo

April 27, 2008 at 2:03 am (medical issues)

*Updated* – it’s interesting what you find out when you talk to more folks. I’m finding more people with vertigo/allergy issues and I want to get a second opinion from another allergist. I’ll keep you posted.

Some of us have been suffering with vertigo and I wanted to give an updated on mine, in case it helps anyone.

About 2 years ago, my doctor diagnosed me with Benign Positional Vertigo. When I first got it, it effected my left side and every time I turned my head a certain way, in a certain position I got really dizzy and nauseous. My doctor gave me exercises to do and they helped but it never fully went away and it eventually changed to my right side.

As of today, it’s minimal and when I do the exercises I never feel the dizziness except for the first position of the exercise.For the past year, I get really dizzy, to the point of not being able to function, every once in awhile. It usually happens when I wake up in the morning and it’s usually bad enough that I have to call out sick. I can barely walk, I can’t take a shower and every time I turned my head, I wanted to throw up. Usually by the next day it was gone.

For the past few months, I’ve been seeing an Ears, Nose & Throat doctor to determine why the sudden dizziness comes over me considering the vertigo is extremely minimal. I’ve had an MRI of my head, a CAT scan of my inner ears, a hearing test and an ENG test to determine what’s going on with my eye movement when I’m in a specific position. All the tests came back negative except the ENG test, which showed that even though I’m laying back in this chair and I won’t feel dizzy, my eye movement is enough that the vertigo is still with me.

As of last week, my doctor told me that the only thing I can do is to come back within 6 weeks if I have any more episodes. If I don’t have any more episodes, I need to revisit him in 3 months. In the meantime, I need to continue the exercises until, I assume, I feel no dizziness whatsoever.

It’s been extremely frustrating but at the same time I’m amazed at how many others are having issues. When I first saw my family doctor, he told me that I was about the 4th person he had seen that was having vertigo issues. At the time, I thought maybe it was allergy related but my Ears, Nose & Throat doctor assured me this is not the case considering your ears do not connect to your sinus cavities. Your inner ear holds your hearing and your equilibrium and that’s about it.

*Edited* – I’ve been sleeping with two pillows since last month. The elevation of my head during sleep seems to help. Usually I had slept with one pillow or my memory foam pillow. I think the fact that my head was level with the rest of my body helped bring on the dizziness when I woke up. March was not fun, I was dizzy for almost the whole month.

13 Comments

  1. fudgelady said,

    Teri, I’m sorry to hear you’re having to go through this. My hubby has had benign positional vertigo for years, although it hasn’t been any worse than usual lately.

  2. Teri said,

    Fudgelady, my main question is what makes this happen to someone. It’s a mystery.

  3. Mel said,

    the doc found that i have an ear infection and lots of fluid so she says that the cause of mine. I dont know, am still dizzy, not all the time but at least a couple of days a week. It IS frustrating!

  4. Nobody™ said,

    The ENT didn’t find anything wrong with me to cause vertigo, but it’s certainly there. I was thinking sinus problems, but I guess you have ruled that out for me.

    I’ve heard that going to a physical therapist can help. Might be worth looking into.

  5. coffeypot said,

    Aren’t you afraid to drive to work? I’ll let you know when I come through PA on a dog run to NY so I can time it when you are at work or at home. Jest sa’in!

  6. SkylersDad said,

    I was going to blog about this nasty pimple, but now I don’t think I can compete…

  7. "that girl" said,

    oh don’t get me started

    your ears are not connected to your sinuses but your eustatian tubes go from your ear to your throat

    hence the reason why when you have a cold you can also get an ear infection

    they may not be directly connected, however they are all connected because they are all in the same 1 foot radius called your skull!!

    i found out how bad my allergies really were because i had vertigo in the shower so bad one day i stayed there, sitting on the floor for 45 minutes, due to just putting my head back to rinse the shampoo

    come to find out, my right sinus was 85% full, yet i did not feel stuffy

    things are not always what they seem, especially if you are not looking at them at that very moment

  8. La Catcuracha said,

    wow. I didnt know that there was something like that. I’ll keep you in my prayers

  9. Teri said,

    Sis, thanks for that. I went to my allergist and he also said he didn’t think it was the allergies. I wonder if any doctor thinks outside the “box”. My allergist gave me some nasal spray and some other things but the nasal spray clears me up more and I didn’t realize I was stuffy, either. I might go to another allergist for a second opinion.

    Also, the past few times I’ve gotten colds I’ve had shooting pains in my ears, almost like an ear infection.

  10. Teri said,

    Cat, thanks for the prayers. I’m gonna get to the bottom of this if it kills me.

  11. Just Dave said,

    This is exactly the problem my wife has, She gets dizzy and cannot function sometimes for weeks at a time. Then it just goes away. She has had every test imaginable also. We have just learned to live with it.

  12. catherinette said,

    I got dizzy just reading this!

  13. Cheer34 said,

    my husband and son suffer from this….usually an attack will occur if G man has been riding the white line for days…..Double G gets an attack if he plays videos for days ( he gets migraines too from videos)….G man drives about 40k miles a year….when he is extremely tired the attacks can occur too… he does some exercises and has to sleep ….but he does not feel right for weeks and sometime a few months…his Doc said nothing he can do about except suffer…the doc is another issue for anotehr post…hope youy feel better soon

Leave a Reply

