Where’s the bathroom?

May 16, 2008 at 10:27 pm (misc, Philly stuff)

When I was younger, I would sometimes have nightmares that I really had to pee and the hallway of the high school, with all the kids going by was a good spot to go. I would eventually wake up and run to the bathroom but I hated having these dreams. I don’t have them anymore but every so often I get a real life situation.

Recently, my coworkers and I, went to a pub in the City to send off one of our own. I, again, had to pee, so I found the bathroom and got scared. This bathroom, one for each of the genders, was situated right across from booths where people were eating and hob nobbing. I felt like I was sitting in the middle of the school hallway again.

And not that long ago I posted about the City toilet, across from City Hall and thought the exact same thing. Even though this bathroom was bigger, it still felt like it was in the middle of the hallway where people were parading up and down the sidewalk.

They recently disposed of the toilet and in its place is a blank spot. I’m glad, I NEVER would have used it.
8 Comments

  1. La Crabcuracha said,

    i wouldn’t have used it either.

  2. SkylersDad said,

    There is a bar downtown that has a mens room with windows all the way across the top of the urinals. You get to stand and pee while looking out at the crowd, and they get to make faces and point at you…

  3. Dick Small said,

    Did anyone ever see the Benny Hill sketch, where he goes into a public outhouse in a park full of people, and after he shuts the door and gets “his stream going”, all four sides of the outhouse fall down and he’s exposed to the crowd while taking a leak. I still crack up hysterically when I think of it….

  4. Scarlet said,

    Yuk, those walls offer no sense of privacy. Yeah, ok, we all do it but still do we need to be so close to those at the time?

  5. La Crabcuracha said,

    Dick would use it

  6. coffeypot said,

    Why pay to use a toile when there is a perfectly good telephone pole right there?

  7. Dick Small said,

    I’d use it. I’d try just about anything once (if you catch my drift *wink).

  8. "that girl" said,

    public restrooms skeeve me out!! seriously!! i hate them!!

    make them as pretty or as convenient as you want … they are still disgusting and gross … still hate them!!

Leave a Reply

