I’ve got gas

May 23, 2008 at 10:14 pm (car issues, NJ stuff)

No, not that kind but I wish it was. I got gas for the car tonight. About a month ago regular was about $2.97/gallon and had been for quite awhile. This month regular is $3.70. It took $52.00 to fill my 4 cylinder Saturn Vue (mine’s red, not silver). I almost cried.

$52.00, people. I feel sick knowing that some of you have more cylinders and bigger cars. Supposedly Jersey was the State with the lowest gas prices. Not anymore. Pretty soon we’re gonna have to get second and third jobs to live with the cost of prices.

How much does it take to fill your tank and what kind of monster car do you have?

21 Comments

  1. Cheer34 said,

    Infiniti G 35x 6 cylinder 280 hp.. I love my car…I put $70.00 in the tank Monday..the low fuel warning light was on…
    normally I do not let the gas get that low but I wanted to see how much it would be to fill the tank…I won’t do that agian…

  2. Sushiboy said,

    The van. V6. It hurts to fill up.

    The bus. El Cheapo. Cost me $5 for the entire year. (cause I’m going to school) other wise its about $55 a month.

  3. Grant Miller said,

    I own several limosuines and the price to fuel them equals the GDP of several small nations.

  4. Karl said,

    It generally takes somewhere between $30 and $35 for me to fill up now, and I drive a Mitsubishi Galant.

  5. Dick Small said,

    $4.20/gallon here.

  6. Nobody™ said,

    Yesterday I spent $17.40 to fill up my two lawnmowers. I used to fill my Blazer for that amount, now it’s more like $65.00 to fill up, which last me about 4 days (fortunately, I work 4 day weeks).

  7. Teri said,

    Dick, seriously?

    I’m getting more depressed as I hear from people.

    ALTHOUGH, I did hear that the price of gas in other countries is through the roof. Even the UK is crazy.

  8. Sans Pantaloons said,

    Given that our gallons are different and taking that into consideration, my back of newspaper calculations would suggest petrol is around an average of $8.46 a gallon here.
    I travel everywhere by Lear Jet, so it doesn’t bother me much.

  9. Teri said,

    Sans, that’s the amount I heard about a few days ago. So I knew our prices weren’t that bad. There was even one country where it’s $18 a gallon.

    I guess the jet is cheaper?

  10. coffeypot said,

    I have a Ford F100 pickup and it takes between $75 and $85 to fill it up.

  11. "that girl" said,

    i’m with coffey … 02 ford exploder … last fill up was $73 and i drive 50 miles to work … one way!!

    i get to save a little next week cause this gimpy girl is working from home

  12. Just Dave said,

    $50 on average to fill up my 2000 Nissan Maximum 6 cylinder. It has a 5 speed manual, which saves some gas, depending on how many stop light drag races I have per tank.

  13. SkylersDad said,

    My car is a small wagon, but the conversion van for getting Skyler around is tough on gas!

  14. Cayman said,

    I paid $60 to fill my Acura. The hubby paid $105 for his truck and his business partner paid $130 to fill his diesel truck.

    So, I renewed my train pass for the summer!

  15. nicole said,

    mine takes about the same amount to fill up. i have a honda accord which was supposed to get amazing gas mileage but really doesn’t- and gas is $3.91 here as of yesterday.

    it is sickening, that’s for sure.

  16. Marni said,

    Hubby has a Dodge Ram — cost him $85 to fill up the other day.

    I have a Honda Accord 4 cyl… costs me almost $50!!! GAH!!!

  17. Joe said,

    Um, isn’t it time for a new post????

  18. La Crabcuracha said,

    4.10 a gallon here in Ga. One of the guys Brian works with is hauling his camper to the jobsite so he doesnt have to commute

  19. Angie said,

    There is a gas station 3 doors down from my house. Yesterday it was $3.99. Today it is $4.05 (michigan). I love my Ford Explorer, but I kinda wish I didn’t have it anymore.

  20. Scarlet said,

    Pffft.. I wish it was that price down here.

    Teri – I did a post on the price compared to me.

    Who’s crying now?

  21. 'Bubbles' said,

    Wow, I’m late to the table, but the prices continue to rise. It cost me $72 to fill up my Ford Freestyle @ 4.08/gallon – the best price in town at Sam’s.

    Holy Cow, huh?

    I have this nifty computer thingy that tells me how many gallons were used. I’ve been using it for each trip I take. It costs me $12 a day JUST to take my kids to their summer activities.

    Heaven help us. We US citizens need to re-think our behavior.

Leave a Reply

