Go ahead, make my day!

July 2, 2008 at 11:09 pm (crazy drivers)

Definitions:

Yield: to surrender or submit, as to superior power

Merge: to combine, blend, or unite gradually so as to blur the individuality or individual identity of

Stop: to cease from, leave off, or discontinue

There is this one shopping center I inhabit because it houses Wegmans and Home Depot. It’s about 5 minutes from my house. When I leave said shopping center, there are two exits by which I leave. The first, by Home Depot, has a right turnoff that is a one-way, “Yield” section going onto a major, busy highway. The other exit, by Wegmans, is a stop sign, one-way, going onto the same major, busy highway.

When I use the “Stop” sign way, the first lane is going by this stop sign and enters into the shopping center. The second lane is going straight, in the direction that I want to go.

When I use the “Yield” exit, I can go about 50 feet but then I have to “Merge” into oncoming traffic.

When I leave home I go down a ramp onto said highway and there is a “Yield” sign. Again, same thing, people honking at me when the road is NOT clear to go, there is about 50 feet ahead of lane before Yielding is to begin but there are other turnoffs as well. So the people on the highway might decide to make a right but I’m coming off the ramp blocking their exit and possibly getting into an accident because I’m not doing what I’m supposed to.

If I have ONE more person, sitting behind me, honking their horn wanting me to go, I will personally get out of my car, with my gun….I mean, and slap them upside their head.

I cannot go if the lane I want is not clear. I cannot go if the sign says STOP and the lane I want is not clear. I cannot go if the sign says YIELD and the lane I want is not clear.

So, if you find yourself in New Jersey, behind a red Saturn VUE with Jersey tags and you honk your horn at me, I will promptly get out of my car and slap you upside your head.

I am also thinking about changing my exit out of this shopping center to exit at the light, go through the light, without making any right hand Yield or Merge decisions and taking the long way home. This will take me to the opposite end of another town close to me but it will relieve my frustrations. BUT how much gas will I use doing this? Instead of a 5 minute ride home it will probably take me 15 minutes

Moral: All signs are not the same. Please be patient with other drivers and pay ATTENTION to the signs. Just because their is a 50 foot lane in front of you does not mean you can go safely to merge into traffic. Sometimes there are other turnoffs ahead that you block and other exit ramps.

Thank you and have a great day.
16 Comments

  1. gaining some lb's said,

    I do not like yield signs. they frighten me. When I see them, I cringe.

    My daughter lives in NJ, I will tell her to be on the lookout for the Saturn.

    I never liked driving in Jersey when I worked there…too many turn around lanes…way too confusing for a philly driver.

    peace
    #2

  2. SkylersDad said,

    I hear you. I hate people who honk behind me, like they know whether or not I am turning into the first lane or trying to move over a couple of lanes…

    That’s why I usually call in an air strike to clear the turning zone.

  3. Libragirl said,

    I know EXACTLY where you are talking about…I was there today – and got honked at – Dude – I can see the cars coming – you can’t I don’t want to get hit, effin pass me if you are in a hurry – I will happily be a witness for the other person that you are a tool

  4. La Crabcuracha said,

    I feel you girl! My VW bus is extremely slow and I can’t pull out into an intersection like I can in a new car. People HONK at me. They also drive up my tail because the bus is slow. They pass me on dangerous parts of the roads. I get sooo pissed about it! Personally, I would rather drive slow and get there alive than risk passing someone on a curve to get there a few minutes faster.

    Rude drivers SUCK!

  5. Finn said,

    When people honk at me to move, I stay put a couple of minutes longer than I would have just so I can mess with them. 😀

  6. mixednut said,

    Ooops. That was you?

  7. Sans Pantaloons said,

    Drive safe. Please continue to ignore the impatient arseholes behind you.

  8. Philly said,

    Sista# 2 is a sissy driver, but let not talk about her or yield signs, lets talk about Wegmans!! LOVE IT!

    #1

  9. Special K said,

    Endeavor to Persevere, my Lady.

    All of us, We, the intelligent of the species, salute you.

    I have a tattoo post for ya…

  10. MarkD60 said,

    I will be very careful if I am ever behind you. . .

  11. Superwoman said,

    Utah has especially crazy drivers, I hate to go up to Salt Lake because people honk at you at all times. It’s crazy, if we all were a little more careful we would all get there safer.

  12. Just Dave said,

    Take the long way around. Your sanity and safety is worth more than a 1/2 gallon of gasoline.

  13. Cheer34 said,

    I don’t honk I stare…for some reason staring at a driver that is going to slow, which is unsafe driving, makes me feel better. The yeild sign is another thing entirely…..I don’t honk or stare because I can’t see if the lane is clear or not…..so I behave….just don’t do 40 in a 55 and I will not stare….

    PS I do not like wegmans….I live in wegmans home town and have many reasons for not liking the company….a post for a later time

  14. "that girl" said,

    JEEZ!! you’re getting old and crotchety!!

    all you have to do is give them the salute, tell them to go get fucked and sit there a little longer than necessary

    here’s an option … come to phoenix, drive on US60 at 530 in the morning. asshole comes flying up behind you doing about 85 in a 65 when you’re already pushing 75, bright lights you to move … and there are about 4 cars around you in the 6 other lanes!! yeah that’s when i take my foot off the gas and the truck coast down to 65, 60, 55 … usually he gets the point by then … and OH YES, it’s always a guy!!

    ok i’m done ranting now!!

  15. "that girl" said,

    oh .. and what the hell is a wegmans?? did they have those there before i left??

  16. Lori said,

    Oooh, is that the same shopping center that has the Christmas Tree Shoppe?

    Love it!!!!

Leave a Reply

