Skyline

July 30, 2008 at 6:41 pm (Philly stuff)

It’s really quiet and boring over here, so I haven’t had much to say, at all.  I have, however, been admiring the Philly skyline lately and wanted to share a picture.  This is not my picture, so I will not take credit for it.  Since I live closer to the City I also see this from the train and from Cooper River Park, which is 4 blocks from my house.

They are building a few buildings downtown.  The latest one to go up is the Comcast Center, which is the tallest in the city.  There is the Cira Center, down near 30th Street Station that is funky and lights up at night with these beads of light.  It’s really cool.  I would like to get a good shot of Boat House Row, sweeping into the Art Museum and then the city, at night.  I think we have some cool buildings in the city and a great skyline, at night especially.

What is your favorite skyline.  Can you share a cool picture of it?

14 Comments

  1. Lori said,

    Wow, that’s a gorgeous picture! I love Philly skyline pictures. One of these weekends, I’m going to trek down there and take some shots from the South Street bridge over the Expressway…one of the best locations to take a skyline picture.

  2. Teri said,

    Lori, I agree the the South Street bridge is a great place for photos. If I’m driving on 76, coming from Jersey, I always wish I could stop and take pictures from that area. I’m sure with your photo capabilities that any picture you take will be fabulous.

  3. Libragirl said,

    I love boat house row. I drove past it Sat and Mon and one of my friends had never seen it lit up. So now she is coming back during Christmas.
    What’s awesome….I can walk there from my sisters.
    My old apartment had a great view of the skyline and you could see the buildings from the Walt Whitman bridge.

    NY is still the best skyline but Philly’s is pretty amazing also…most likely because it’s unexpected. Everyone knows NY has a great view….not as many people do about Philly.

    And I loved watching the Comcast building go up.

  4. Dick Small said,

    Thank you for not taking credit for my picture. I worked real hard to get just the right angle. You know, in all honesty, I consider this one of my better shots.

  5. Philly said,

    Nice Picture !!

    #1

  6. cat said,

    I sent you an email with the skyline pics. I dont know how to link here. Am computer unsavy!

  7. Cinnkitty said,

    I *LOVE* Brian Westbrook of the Philly Eagles!! Does that qualify me for honorary Philly status? hee..hee…

  8. Teri said,

    Cinnkitty – absolutely! Even though the Eagles suck, at least you’re only rooting for one of the players.

    Cat – thanks, I’ll look at them when I get home. They don’t seem to show up when I log on from work.

    Dick – you do great work!

    Libragirl – I love the NYC skyline but I love the different shaped buildings, more. Which NYC doesn’t really have. Any city that has cool shaped buildings is better, in my book. I love architecture and the older buildings, as well. All the detail, carvings, etc. is fabulous.

  9. Special K said,

    It is a beautiful city. I’ve been there once, and was poisoned by the motel resturaunt just hours after landing and spend the next 4 days in E. Coli hell.

    I do very much want to go back and NOT get sick, so I can enjoy the sites.

  10. mixednut said,

    I like the mix of old and new buildings. Wish I could visit Philly again.

  11. Catherinette said,

    You totally should have taken credit for it. We would have believed you. We really should have.

    I can’t find my favorite picture, but it would definitely be of London.

  12. Grant Miller, Esq. said,

    “Nashville Skyline,” definitely.

  13. Skylers Dad said,

    Pics are up over at my place, sorry I couldn’t work the embed…

  14. cheer34 said,

    I’ll see if I can find a skyline picture

Leave a Reply

