An Amazing Author

August 7, 2008 at 6:22 pm (books)

I’ve recently discovered an author that some of you might know about, already.  He is Khaled Hosseini and I was blown away by his writing and his stories.  He writes about wonderful, strong, characters and I loved how it opened up the country of Afghanistan for those of us who know nothing about the country.  They were incredibly sad stories, courageous and inspirational.  If you haven’t read his books, please try them.  They will make you cry and your heart break.  They will lift you up with the spirit of the people and the different culture traditions of Afghanistan.

My favorite was “A Thousand Splendid Suns” but the “Kite Runner” was magnificent as well.

6 Comments

  1. Just Dave said,

    I have read them both and found them fascinating. As you say, they opened up a world that I knew nothing about. Of course, I was aware that the Soviet Union had invaded and that the Taliban took over after they left but these books tell what it was like for the Afghans when these things occur. I don’t think that they are books that I will read over and over but Hussein is a great story teller and I look forward to more books from him

    Supposedly he will do more books but steer away from the Afghanistan area.

    Teri

  2. coffeypot said,

    Are there purty pictures in them thar books?

    There are some nice pictures on the front, that’s about it. Go back to the kiddy aisle of the bookstore, Coffey. You’ll find more pictures there.

    Teri

  3. cat said,

    I have heard very good things about both. i may have to read….

  4. Skylers dad said,

    Does he do pop-up books? I only read those…

    SD, see my comment for Coffeypot. Sheesh, men!

    Teri

  5. Dr Zibbs said,

    Oh yeah..this is a girl’s book

    No way, you’re crazy. Oops, everyone knows this, already.

    Teri

  6. thatgirl said,

    i was going to download the kite runner on my ipod, just haven’t gotten around to it, maybe i’ll do that this weekend

    You could listen to it in the car during your LONGGGGGGGGG trips to work. You’ll enjoy it, I promise.

Leave a Reply

