Do men suffer from PMS?

August 28, 2008 at 9:07 pm (medical issues, men's issues, stupid men, work related)

Every so often I suffer from PMS to the point that my nerves feel like they could snap.  This is really bad when I’m at work and someone has a stupid ass question or doesn’t explain themselves to the point where I want to pull the hair from my head and run screaming away from them.

This happened today.  My one consultant and I almost got into a screaming match because what he was saying was totally ridiculous.  He was acting like what I should do with a document on our server was something we NEVER do and that he was telling me something new.  Hello dumbass, we always save our documents in each specific folder and PDF them, etc. before we send to clients or have copied.  Why are you telling me this is how your folders and documents should be?  This is how we’ve always done it and how we will continue to do it.  And he got PISSED off at me because I couldn’t understand what the fuck he was talking about and when I explained the process and how it’s been in place since the dinosaurs he got even more pissed at me.  Then he tells me that all letters, going to the clients, accompanying presentations, etc. should come from the Associates (the folks who put the presentations together).  Um….NO, the letter and the relationship with the client is with the Consultant.  If the client gets a letter, from the Associate, and the client doesn’t know who this person is, they will say “Who the hell is this person”.  Basically this consultant wants to rearrange the way we’ve been doing things for more than 8 years because he feels like it on this particular day.

This brings me to my original question, do men suffer from a form of monthly PMS?  Every so often, when I want to rip someone’s face off because I’m hormonal, he seems to be as well and we almost have a throwdown.  Today he told me to get out of his office.  And a few hours later we smiled at each other and acted like nothing happened.

One of the other guys in the office says he truly suffers from this hormonal craziness about once a month.  Is it the full moon?  My and my female friends always crack jokes about “men having PMS” when they are totally off the wall and goofy, like this.  We feel like if we go through it, then the men must go through it, as well, right?

11 Comments

  1. Lori said,

    I’ve heard on occasion from non-scientific conversations that men do have monthly cycles, just like women do, only with no bleeding.

    I don’t know what I think about that. All I know is that female PMS is for REAL, and that shit seems to get worse the older I get!

  2. catcuracha said,

    YES! My hib is a total crab. I had an emergency hysterectomy at 32, so I dont have any of the hormonal stuff anymore. I don’t muss it!

  3. coffeypot said,

    Men do have monthly cycles that last about four days, but the only bleeding involved is when one of the guys punches the other guy in the nose – then runs into the bathroom and cries for half an hour.

  4. Falwless said,

    I totally commiserate, girl. My PMS is always marked by an irrational crying session at some point. I will cry over the dumbest thing in the world and be like, “Why am I crying?!?!?” You’d think after 21 years of this happening I’d figure out what’s actually occurring, instead of thinking I’ve randomly gone off the deep end!

    P.S. You’ve been blogrolled! Thanks for visiting my blog. 🙂

  5. Skylers Dad said,

    We do not suffer from PMS!

    We enjoy every fucking minute of it!!

    Now get off our backs!

    Sorry, this hasn’t been a good week for me, I wonder if it’s my “time”?

  6. The Guv said,

    I rarely get it bad enough to be noticeable but one afternoon last week I was angry at everything. I was angry at my coffee, I was angry at my seatbelt in the car and I was furious I slammed the door on my ankle. So I deduced PMS was responsible. Plus seriously, I ate about twelve bars of chocolate and still wanted more. Hello!

  7. Dr Zibbs said,

    We get it when we don’t get enough – how should I say this – Scridaling – scrida-dida-lida-ling. IF…you know what iI mean.

  8. Just Dave said,

    Well, sort of. We don’t act that way at any particular time of the month. We only act that way when we are really horny.

  9. Dick Small said,

    It’s called ‘male menopause’. It happens.

  10. thatgirl said,

    you don’t even WANT to hear a comment from me on this one!!

    full moon, days that end in Y, any month with more than 28 days!!

  11. cinnkitty said,

    PMS — Pre “MEN”strual syndrome.

    Go figure!!!

Leave a Reply

