It’s raining in my bedroom

September 7, 2008 at 4:06 pm (house issues)

**Updated**

So the roofing guy came out and looked at my roof.  He laughed.  Supposedly, when I had my Direct TV installed last April, the nice guy installed it into my roof.  Which is flat.  With not much cault.  Needless to say, I filed a damage claim with Direct TV, I will get an estimate from the roofing guy, he will fix the roof, the Direct TV people will come out and move the dish to a “safe” place and Direct TV will pay for it.  Suh-weeeeetttt!  No more crying, yet, for Teri. 

Did you know that flat roofs only last about 10 years and they basically suck, says the roofing guy.  Yeah, I agree with you.  Not much room for drainage, etc. and who wants to put a new roof on every 10 years?  I sure don’t.

So we had a tropical storm come through the area and drench us with rain.  Well, by 8:00 p.m. last night, I noticed that there was water dripping from my ceiling fan in my bedroom.  Supposedly, the roof had been redone about three years ago.  It’s a flat roof, which I hate, but I assumed I didn’t have to worry about it.  Well, I guess I do.  I have to contact the previous owner tomorrow and find out who did the roof, if it’s under some type of warranty, etc. and have them come out and fix it.  And guess what?  We’re suppose to have more thunderstorms on Tuesday.  Fun times!  More rain dripping on my new mattress and maybe it will blow all the electricity.

I’ll keep you posted.

17 Comments

  1. Skylers dad said,

    Be care ful about that ceiling fan, maybe find the breaker that it is running from and turn it off.

  2. Nobody™ said,

    That sucks. Hopefully they find where the leak is coming from and can fix it. I had a leak in a brand new flat roof once and the problem was a piece of flashing that was sealed down about 30 feet away from where the water was actually coming in. But the roofer was good so he was able to find it easily.

  3. coffeypot said,

    I suggest going into the ceiling, if you can, and see what damage is done. It would really suck if you woke up one night with the ceiling fan and half the ceiling in bed with you before you could get it fixed. You should heed Skylers Dad, too.

  4. Teri said,

    The area isn’t dripping right now, so I’m trying to be careful. The problem is that if I turn off the breaker, it will shut my whole bedroom down. Hopefully someone can come out tomorrow and tell me what’s wrong. I’m also going to call my Homeowner’s insurance and see what they cover. There isn’t much room between my ceiling and the actual roof. There isn’t a crawl space or attic.

  5. Libragirl said,

    That sucks…that was one of my concerns when I lived in the apt complex before I bought.
    I don’t like flat roofs for that reason…hope it works out.

  6. Philly said,

    I had water dripping in my family room. sucks

    #1

  7. metalmom said,

    Yuck-o! Call me if you need an electrician…..I know one who might give you a deal! 🙂

  8. Just Dave said,

    As a black belt in insurance, I am pretty sure that the damage from the leak would be covered, subject to your deductible. However, the cost of fixing the leak probably is not covered. Built-up flat roofs are usually easier to repair than peaked roofs but sometimes, like Nobody said, it takes an expert to find how the water in getting under the seal as it can travel a good way before finding a weak spot to leak through.

  9. Dr Zibbs said,

    Suck

  10. cinnkitty said,

    Hmmm… a flat roof? I can’t say as I’ve ever run into that before. Interesting. Good luck going against Direct TV!!

  11. Sans Pantaloons said,

    Were you watching the weather channel when it started to leak?

  12. Bubbles said,

    Hey, fellow flat roofer!

    I understand completely! Man, oh, man. I love a flat roof for a couple of reasons:

    If you want to go up there you might have a nice place to think and look around.

    If you want a skylight it is easy to install… assuming the original pitch was good.

    However…

    I don’t trust ANYONE to do ANYTHING on my roof. I inspect their work very carefully.

    Interestingly, my recent DirectTV install was an extra $75 because they had to put a ‘special tray”, which was a large plastic tray with the dish attached, on the roof – and secure it with a special securing mechanism – four cinder blocks….

    All so they didn’t drill into my flat roof. Smart!

    I say smart because the solar pool heating panels were secured with screws and roofing tar /sealant and they are popping out.

    I visit my roof every month, just to see what is going on up there.

    Owning a home…. ugh.

  13. catcuracha said,

    OMG! That sucks! Come stay with me!

  14. Falwless said,

    Wow. I’m glad this got taken care of by DirecTV. What a buncha dummies!

  15. LiteralDan said,

    The buildings in our neighborhood all have flat roofs, but I’m not sure why. It seems like a lot more maintenance and greater potential for problems. Glad to know I have an expert’s opinion to back me up now.

  16. Trukindog said,

    My brother in law has been a roofer for 25 yrs. and he says flat roofs suck butt…I cleaned that up a bit but you get the point.

  17. Linda said,

    Sorry to hear about your roof/Direct TV woes! Glad the TV people are taking care of it.

    I wish I knew how bad flat roofs were before we bought a house with one! Ignorance is bliss — until the leaks start.

Leave a Reply

