September 22, 2008 at 10:56 pm (medical issues)

It was a typical Monday night.  She came home, did her evening workout and prepared to relax for the evening.  She decided to watch some football, Eagles vs. Dallas.  They volleyed back and forth for the win but the Eagles eventually lost.  Typical!  But they put up a good fight.

She went to bed about 11:30 p.m. and immediately starting feeling pain on her left side.  She got up and tried to figure out what it might be.  She had a sneaky suspicion.  She got dressed and decided to drive to the E.R.  She didn’t make it.  She pulled over, on a side road, a few towns over and called 911.  They came and got her and deposited her at the E.R. of her favorite hospital.  She threw up a couple of times, they administered pain medication and took a CAT scan.  Yep, it was what she thought but the pain was worse this time.

At the end of her stay, she hailed a cab to take her home and she promptly called out sick from work and went to bed.  She got a relative to help pick up her car, later that day.

Verdict:  kidney stone

Pain:  horrific

Drugs:  wonderful

Will she have to end her secret love affair with iced tea?  She only has this affair in the summer time and this is the second incident in three years, both times in the summer.  Will the urologist know?

“I will always love you, tea.  No matter what anyone says, you are my thirst quencher and my love”.  If we must part ways I will see you on occasion, never fear.

Both the doctor and nurse said “oh yeah, tea can do that”.

Certain diuretics which are commonly called water pills or calcium-based antacids may increase the risk of forming kidney stones by increasing the amount of calcium in the urine

18 Comments

  1. Dr Zibbs said,

    Damn

  2. Finn said,

    Oh my. I hope it passes quickly! xo

  3. metalmom said,

    Punkin, was the “she” you?

    Holy Crap!

    I’ll chat with you if you want. I’m home. No kids.

    Facebook, text, or phone…..If you feel up to it of course!

  4. Teri said,

    Dr. – I know, can you believe they lost against Dallas? Oh wait, they’re the Eagles…. (I know what you really meant, just felt like teasin ya)

    Finn – thanks for the thoughts and smooches.

    MM – I sent you an email.

  5. Skylers Dad said,

    Oh that sucks!! I hope the pain passes soon and you will be able to send me leftover pain meds…

  6. coffeypot said,

    Lord, Darling, I know what you went through. I just stop going to the doctor. I still haven’t passed my stone from three weeks ago. I guess it is floating around in my bladder waiting on a time that is most inconvenient for me to pass it.

  7. Cinnkitty said,

    That’s A LOT of horrific pain and a big ole medical bill, just to support the sips of a few glasses of tea, don’t you think? (hey… don’t look at me, I’m having a hard enough time with this “red meat” thing my doctor insists I eat) 🙂

  8. superwoman said,

    Dangit, what a yucky night. Hope you get better fast.

  9. Teri said,

    Coffeypot – I wish mine would pass already. It’s giving me problems like it feels like it’s in the process of passing and it’s hard to go to the bathroom and then my kidney gets annoyed, blah, blah. And supposedly it’s small. I hate to think what I would feel like if it were bigger. I hope yours passes soon. These things are painful beyond words and very unpredictable.

    Kitty – I can’t complain while in your presense. If I had your issues I don’t know what I would do.

    Superwoman – It’s actually been since last Monday and I wish it done, already! Thanks for the thoughts.

  10. SushiBoy said,

    Best of luck.

    Hopefully your done getting stoned (haha j/k).

  11. cheer34 said,

    hope your feeling better….I never knew ice tea could give one kidney stones…..

  12. Sans Pantaloons said,

    And so it came to pass. . .

    Thinking of you.

  13. Jen said,

    I love tea.

    can I borrow some of
    your drugs?

    time for the seinfeld get well song:
    get well
    get well sooon
    we want you to get well

    get well
    get well sooon
    we want you to get well

  14. Teri said,

    Jen – of course you can have some of my drugs. they are nice. now I have a raging urinary tract infection. you might have to sing that song LOUDER! Thanks.

  15. Lori said,

    Teri! I hope you feel better soon. I too am an ardent tea-lover, and I hope the day never comes when I must give it up.

  16. thatgirl said,

    ok … so how is that as your sister …. I HAD NO FUCKING IDEA????

    what the efff man … i suck!!

    sorry … hope you feel better … i would die with no caffeine

  17. Just Dave said,

    Ouch. Glad you are better, Man, that would be a tough choice for me as I have a major iced tea addiction. I guess if it hurts that bad, I would just have to go to water,

  18. William said,

    I hope you are feeling better.

Leave a Reply

