The Birds

November 19, 2008 at 11:47 pm (city skylines, misc, Philly stuff, wild animals, work related)

Every day, at sunset, the birds at my job put on quite a show.  There are thousands of them that gather, fly and swoop and eventually swoop down to the trees at the City Hall building.  It’s like watching a show that’s totally awesome.  How do they fly without smacking into each other?  How do they congregate at a specific place and time?  What is the reason that they do this?  It’s a shame the people on the street don’t look up and watch this wonderful show.  I am always awe struck.

Philadelphia City Hall building (trees that birds descend into)

city-hall2

11 Comments

  1. Dr Zibbs said,

    Very cool.

  2. Skylers Dad said,

    I have always wondered how they don’t crash into each other also.

  3. Finn said,

    Birds are awesome little dudes. And dudettes.

  4. mixednut said,

    Looks like they’re having fun.
    Btw, I’m stealing your City Hall pic for my background.

  5. Teri said,

    MN, go for it.

    Finn, I agree.

    SD, it baffles the hell out of me.

    Dr. Zibbs, I agree

  6. Just Dave said,

    Wow, your office must be really close to our Phiily office as we have almost that same view.

    I think that they all meet together to worship their chief prophet, Alfred Hitchcock. They look forward to the day when his prophecies are fulfilled.

  7. coffeypot said,

    The birds read the posted schedule everyday, while holding a cup of coffee and scratching their asses, to know when and where to gather; the wind from their wigs help them keep their distance; and they know when to turn and how far by the radio command of the flight leader. Only the wind off the wings is really true, though.

  8. Linda said,

    Your post was quite a tweet! 🙂

  9. cinnkitty said,

    Makes me think of that scene from “The Core”. Horrible science in the movie but I love it anyway. Poor birdies and their little ion filled brains.

  10. cheer34 said,

    I love looking at birds…..crows amaze me for some reason

  11. MissedConnections said,

    Ya, I wish people were like birds (without the rat-like bodies). Dont you just want to meet up for a couple minutes on a roof top, than migrate without bumping into eachother (or in human language, car accidents or toe-stepping) and just be happy? Cause I do!

Leave a Reply

