Technology…..UGH!

December 7, 2008 at 9:24 pm (computer problems)

I bought an external, refurbished, hard drive from someone on eBay, a year or two ago.  I have had no problems with it until the beginning of this year.  It seems that every 3-4 months, my computer stops “seeing” the drive.  At first I thought it was my USB port, then I thought I needed more drivers, etc.  This past time, I can’t find drivers on Iomega’s web site and according to another source, you shouldn’t need drivers with the hard drive.  This leads me to believe that the hard drive is done.  But my LIFE in on this drive.  Seriously!  My personal web pages, my music for my ipod, my pictures, etc., etc.

Now I need to get someone to get my information off this drive and I need to upgrade my internal hard drive since I only have 4 gb’s left.

I always have issues with technology.  I’m one of those people that does the bare minimum.  I don’t need all the bells and whistles.  But when I go to upgrade or make my perfectly good piece of equipment better, they tell me it’s been discontinued, it’s old and we don’t carry drivers, or anything else for this equipment, etc.  Usually this is within a 2-3 year period.

This INFURIATES me to no end.  Seriously, I see red when I hear these comments.  Who has the money for all these upgrades, etc.?  Why are things obsolete within a short period of time?  I hate buying shit that I don’t need, like a 500 gb hard drive.  WTF?  I don’t need that kind of space and I don’t think I’ll need that kind of space until 5 or more years from now.  And even if I buy it now, it will be obsolete within a year or two, anyway. 

Does anyone else go through this?  What do you do?

5 Comments

  1. cinnkitty said,

    Ahhh…but, even though you may not need the 500GB hard drive NOW, after several years of accumulation, you’ll find that you fill up more space than you might think. Pictures are notorious for sucking up space.

    And let’s face it, isn’t it better to go ahead and drop the cash on the new technology than deal with the stuff you are dealing with now??

    For what it’s worth — you can go to Best Buy and get a 1TB (that should last you the rest of your life, seriously!) and never have to deal with this stuff again. And with all the sales going on, they aren’t that expensive. (Better yet, Circuit City because they are going out of business!! ha..ha.ha..)

    In the mean time — HOLY SHIT.. only 4GB left? Damn woman, you better get cracking. 🙂

    xoxoxo

  2. thatgirl said,

    yeah i have to agree with kitty

    i bought a MyBook at best buy, 500G and it was like $100 … well worth it

    i put all of my school stuff and stuff that i knew i wouldn’t use on an everyday basis on it, freed up alot of room on my laptop

    and i’m sorry to break the news to ya sis, but the life of most small scale computer electronics is 2-3 years … sorry

    and this means that my laptop is overdue to be replaced and i don’t want, nor can i afford to get a new one just yet

  3. Teri said,

    thanks, girls. I get the point!

  4. cheer34 said,

    it’s the commies….they make stuff obsolete so they can sell more new stuff and make more money….damn them….I have 2 computers that are 5 years old and still running…..knock on wood

  5. Finn said,

    I have a five-year-old Mac that has hit the wall. It still runs really well, but I cannot get updates on ANYTHING for it. It’s time for a new one. I’m not ready yet!

    And Mister’s laptop (PC) is only about three years old and it needs an upgrade.

Leave a Reply

